Yay, it’s Monday

Not something most people say, or working people, anyway. Monday, the beginning of a new work week. A whole five days stretching out there before we get another day off. Oh, I remember that Monday-blues feeling when I was working. But no more. Monday is like a real holiday for me.

When I awoke this morning, I realized it was beginning to get light so I was a bit startled. Had I overslept? Then I remembered. It’s Monday. No need to be up early. I could luxuriate in bed for awhile. Drift back to sleep if I wished. But, I didn’t. I really wanted to get up and start my day. My day to do NOTHING!

I dressed in around-the-house clothes. Old slacks and tshirt. Hoody. I won’t be putting on makeup today. No need to be concerned about which shoes to wear for the event of the day. I can keep my slippers on and then slip on my very old tennis shoes when I go out back to work in the yard. I won’t need a handbag. My iPhone won’t need to be silenced. I can keep it in my pocket all day because the old pants I’m wearing has nice, deep pockets, unlike those dress pants that seem to think women don’t need pockets.

Monday is the one day of the week that has no obligations. No responsibilities. No where to be. No one to meet. Well, for this week. Next week is Ladies Who Lunch.

8 responses to “Yay, it’s Monday

  1. That’s wonderful, and I’m sure tha all of us who are retired have many days like that. 🙂

  2. So glad you are blogging a lot. It keeps things lively! I can see you share some of my concerns, too. Such as practically having to live in the kitchen. On Sunday I finally cooked a turkey friends gave us around Christmas. It took three days to thaw. When it was done and I took it out of the oven, the flimsy aluminum pan it was in collapsed and hot fat and water spilled all over the kitchen floor.
    I also lost a friend and neighbor and have been grieving more than seems reasonable. We did have a lot in common, but I would not have called her a close friend. Maybe it’s because she was younger than me and not someone I would have expected to die in her early 70s. Still, it seems out of proportion.
    And I have not gotten over being really happy about being retired! My husband, on the other hand, loves his job. He’ll be 73 tomorrow.

    • I’ve had the time and ideas to write a lot these past few days. Starting tomorrow, Tuesday, though, that will not be the case. Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays are very busy days for me. Often, by Friday, I have many chores and errands to catch up on so that cuts into my writing time.

  3. I LOVE days with no commitments!

  4. Today was a GOOD day!

  5. Everyone needs a break. However, I’ve gone to the other extreme and feel resentful if I have to go anywhere early.

    Retired, twice over, I still arise around 6:00 AM. I can’t lay in bed. I suppose its the old Protestant ethic kicking in.

    My motto my entire life has been: “Dost thou love life? then do not waste time, for that is the stuff it is made of.”

  6. Every day is a holiday for us retired people.

Leave a Reply

