“I don’t have any friends”

I met a second grader yesterday in the cafeteria. Although I eat with and talk mainly to the first graders in the cafeteria as they are my assignment, the second graders are having lunch at the same time so I chat with them, too, trying to get them to eat their veggies or encouraging them to remain seated and quiet. This little girl practically climbed into my lap while I edited and uploaded my photo of the day’s lunch. She wanted to see what I was doing.

I was curious about this little girl as she has some evident health issues which may have caused her to have a bit of a speech impediment. It took me quite awhile to learn her name, finally asking her to spell her name as I could not understand what she was saying. I gave her a couple of coloring pages that I had in my bag. She started to return one of the pages, saying she only needed one. I told her to share with a friend.

“I don’t have any friends.”

You can imagine my heartbreak. I came home and prayed for this child who has some health issues and no friends.

Today she had a girl with her who told me she is a friend. I was so thankful. They both hugged me when I gave them stickers. Such small things make them so happy.

6 responses to ““I don’t have any friends”

  1. As a child I was a bit of a loner. I felt sometimes alone, but learned how to do things to amuse the other kids via laughter. I also learned how to play ball, and was admired for that. The other thing you can do if you feel lonely is look for someone who feels lonely, and talk to them, then each of you will have a new friend.

  2. My heart broke for many of the kids I worked with in the schools. Especially the special needs kids, trying to fit in. Heart breaking.

  3. Yay! So touching. ❤ Was also a loner in school, for the most part of it. 🙂

  4. I love this uplifting post, and I’m so glad the little girl has a friend. Maybe you had something to do with that. 🙂

  5. so glad she found a friend.

  6. Life can be lonely at times.

Leave a Reply

