Building resiliency

That’s what I’m supposed to be teaching the first graders–how to be resilient. I’ve had to take a dose of my own “medicine” the past two weeks as the school’s oven has gone kaput. Although the lunches are made off-site, they are kept warm in two large ovens that serve 600 lunches each day.

With no oven, the lunches have been cold food. Last week was corn chips and cheese, this week was ham sandwich yesterday and peanut butter and jelly sandwich today. None of which I care to eat so I’ve just helped the kids with their lunch packages and encouraged them to eat their veggies. I have started mingling with the kindergartners who have lunch a half hour before the first and second grades arrive. They too throw away the veggies so have started encouraging them. Today many of them showed me how they were eating carrots and celery sticks.

One of the first grade girls was excited to show off her new shoes and wanted me to take a picture. Instead of a lunch picture today, I posted this photo on Instagram and Facebook:

11059252_10203027433646520_6864673231632529640_n

 

As I was driving home Thursday, and feeling really pretty crummy, I realized I had not eaten all day except for a piece of toast and cup of coffee for breakfast. It had been hard to make it through the classroom sessions today as I felt like I had so little energy. Well, no wonder! As I tell the students, you have to “fuel up” to do your best.

On Wednesday, while greeting the first graders as they lined up for lunch, one of the boys handed this to me:

kevin thank you

Sweet notes like this sure help me be more resilient! Oh, and a cup of tea and a muffin when I got home helped boost my spirits, too.

12 responses to “Building resiliency

  1. I saw these on Facebook but I’m enjoying them very much again. Those shoes are dynamite! 🙂

  2. Perhaps you can nosh on veggies while you are there and bring tea in a thermos. Great shoes. Even better note. I signed up to read you on facebook too.

    • i’m hoping the oven is fixed or replaced by next week. Two weeks of cold lunches has got to be annoying to the children and staff, too.

  3. I’d vote for bringing a bag of vegetables with you, too (with maybe a handful of nuts thrown in). THAT would be setting a good example.

    • I have enough to carry with me what with books and handouts. Also, the goal here is to encourage the children to eat the school lunch, not introduce other food.

  4. such a rewarding job!

  5. and I’m also wondering why the ovens take so long to fix, this is important after all.

    • I’m thinking the same thing, Christine. One would think the district would have a spare oven sitting around for just such an event. I’ll see what happens next week and then I may do contacting on my own.

  6. Awww… gee! That is just so sweet and isn’t it what keeps us going in teaching?

  7. Cute drawing. I love art drawn by my own grandkids.
    Yup, it’s important to eat to be active.

  8. That is so sweet. I love those shoes.

  9. Love the pants and shoes. Lovely notes to you too. Enjoy your Mom’s Day.

Leave a Reply

