Just feels like Saturday

Although it is Friday it feels like a Saturday to me. This is usually the case at the end of these busy weeks. I am surprised to see that it is the middle of May already. Since Good News Club is done for the school year, I filled this past Tuesday with three school tours at Kearney Mansion. I’ve not been able to give as many tours there as I would like due to my Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday commitments. Being so busy on those three days makes Friday feel like a Saturday. I can usually stay home and relax.

We have had one storm front after another pass through here. Last night’s storm actually dumped quite a bit of rain. There was flooding in parts of the city and cars got stuck in some underpasses. Each arrival and departure of these storms causes a change in the barometric pressure which causes a change in my sinuses. I have had headaches for a couple of weeks now. This morning’s headache is bad enough for Imitrex, my migraine medicine.

My plan for this morning had been to work on granddaughter Leeya’s birthday book. She turned six this week, and as with the past birthdays, I take the photos from the past year and turn them into a book for her. Most of my photos reside on my phone so I have to transfer them to my computer. Terry gave me a flash drive with photos he had taken this year. Those too must be uploaded to the company I use for the book, Shutterfly.

I spent awhile yesterday looking at their layouts and deciding which one to use. It was all so confusing, and at 4 o’clock I was too tired to make any decisions. I thought I could do it this morning when my brain would be working well. However, due to the headache, I’m not on top of my game so will postpone the work for another day.

I only have four more days with the first graders. This past week I gave them an assessment on what I had taught during the year about being resilient. The average for the five classes was 77.4. Not too shabby. This next week I will read one more story. The following week will be devoted to handing out certificates to all first graders. Those who got 100 percent on their assessment will get a special certificate from the Fresno Police Department. The others will also get a certificate from the police department but not quite as fancy. Then we will be done for this year. I have chatted with the principal of the school and she tells me they want me to return as chaplain next year.

14 responses to “Just feels like Saturday

  1. Being a school chaplain is a far far busier thing than I would have thought. Thanks for doing it. Sorry too about the headache. Take care of you.

  2. sounds like you are getting some needed rain. Feel better soon.

  3. Good news about the rain. Bad news about the migraine.

  4. I’m so sorry you suffer from migraines. I am glad to hear that you’re getting some much needed rain in your area.

  5. Every time I see the weather in central California I think of you in Fresno. I am so glad you have some rain! The migraine, not so much. 🙂

  6. Thanks so much for making the effort to leave me a note. Yes, we have many things we like alike, but not baseball, I shall never let him know how boring I think the game. Then again, maybe after 32 years he has figured that out. LOL

  7. I don’t understand why the vinegar doesn’t work for you. I use the cheap white stuff and it kills the roots. We also burn off the tops simultaneously. If it rains it will dilute the vinegar You must have the weeds from hell.

    Photos for your granddaughter’s birthday album is a nice gift. These days, my granddaughters send me photos.

    • Weeds from hell? Yeah I would go along with that. They are tough to be able to grow in this clay dirt. I can’t grow flowers, but I grow fabulous weeds.

  8. I just contacted Blogspot Help and this morning I got a comment from a WordPress blogger. I want to make sure it’s not a fluke. Could you do me a favor and try commenting again please? Thanks a bunch.

    • It took four tries to get those two messages posted to your blog. The last comment post had me select pictures of cake before sending the comment.

      • A cake? Wow! Good grief! I’m so sorry! Thank you so much for your help. I guess all this is because of the spam that Blogspot bloggers have been getting. Sigh…

      • Cakes, sushi, bread, hamburgers. Those are some of the machinations just to post a comment. A grid of 12 photos appears with directions to choose all of one of those types. Usually there is a set of number that also have to be entered. It is just ridiculous.

  9. I’ve had to select sandwiches and.pizza. I really don’t mind. It’s kind of fun.

  10. I think that sometimes, when we decompress, that’s when the migraines hit. Congrats on being asked back to your chaplain work! It’s amazing how many rewarding activities we find as we age.

Leave a Reply

