Disappointment

The events had been on my calendar for weeks. A choir concert on Sunday afternoon. A train trip with The Ladies Who Lunch on Monday. Lots of joy. Lots of friends. Lots of fun. Lots of anticipation.

I love handbell choirs, and the new church we joined has one. Along with a choir, an organ, and a grand piano. The music is wonderful, and I enjoy it each Sunday morning. A concert to wrap up the season was planned for Sunday afternoon, and I was looking forward to it.

Once a month The Ladies Who Lunch meet for lunch, sometimes going on an adventure to find our meal. Such was the plan for Monday. One of the members of the group has a four-year old grandson who loves trains but had never ridden on one. The plan was to catch the Amtrak San Joaquin in Fresno and ride about 35 miles south to the small town of Hanford, where there is a most marvelous ice cream parlor within walking distance of the railroad station. It is the perfect day trip. Especially for a four-year old.

Saturday night I became horribly, horribly ill. Severe stomach pains. Sweats. Nausea. Vomiting. Dizziness. The Sunday concert was definitely a no-go. I tried to get better all day Sunday but just couldn’t do it. I could hardly get out of bed. I couldn’t concentrate. Couldn’t hold my head up. Finally, Sunday evening, I gave in and texted my friends that I probably wouldn’t make it after all for the train trip and to not be surprised if I didn’t show up. Sure enough, Monday morning was not much better. I remained in bed.

Two days of being sick. That was bad enough, but missing two long-anticipated events was the worst. There can be no re-dos. No second chances. I am so disappointed. But, I am feeling better and was able to run my errands today and do laundry.

 

13 responses to “Disappointment

  1. Oh dear that is so wretched, I hope you are recovering OK, do you know what caused? Bug? Food? Virus of some kind?

    I hate when that happens.
    XO
    WWW

    • I’m thinking I overdid it with the ice cream and a really good meatloaf that I made. I don’t eat dairy or meat very often so I think my system rebelled.

  2. wonder if you got a virus from the grandkids…feel better soon.

  3. Glad you’re feeling better, but that stinks you missed out on the fun – especially a good concert.

  4. Oh no! That stinks! I am glad you are starting to feel better.

  5. I am so sorry to hear how sick you were. It happens, but gosh, how awful that it happened when you had such plans. I’m glad to hear you’re better, though. 🙂

  6. I haven’t had that happen in a while and it’s awful when it does. Get better soon. Life is too short for illness to interfere.

    • Exactly. I have a dr.’s appt on Thursday. I made it a few weeks ago as I have had an issue with my right foot. I think it may be a symptom of spinal stenosis, which I was diagnosed with just over 5 years ago. I want to have a long talk with my dr about spinal stenosis and what I can expect over the next few years. I’m beginning to think this last bout of illness may be tied to it rather than a digestive upset brought on by food.

  7. Too bad you got sick and missed the two lovely events.

  8. What a bummer. I hope the doc can figure out what’s going on.

    • I was curious before to see what the dr would say about the stenosis, and am especially so after the weekend attack. The more I look at it, I’m sure it wasn’t a digestive disorder. I was sweaty, nauseous, dizzy, and had vomiting. Those symptoms go along with lots of other things besides digestive issues.

  9. That’s so disappointing!

Leave a Reply

