When you live in the produce capital of the world…

…you come to expect the best-tasting fruits and vegetables and will settle for nothing less. 

I’ve been waiting for the local cantaloupes to come to market. Well-netted, large, firm melons that smell like sweet cantaloupe. Today I was finally rewarded. 

 

The heat has helped them ripen. The front melon could have stayed on the vine one more day, though it has a sweet taste. The back cantaloupe is perfection. It was like cutting butter when I peeled off the rind. 
 

I’m still waiting for the perfect watermelon to appear. The issue this year is water. Will growers have to pull the water off too soon before the melons get sweet?  I’m expecting to pay a hefty price.  

11 responses to “When you live in the produce capital of the world…

  1. It’s been so long since I had a good cantaloupe, by the time they make it here they are pretty tasteless. I’ll live vicariously through you 🙂
    XO
    WWW

    • Yes, fruit that must be shipped long distances is picked way too soon so there is little flavor. I try to buy as close to the grower as possible. I really like the fruit that is picked one day and I buy it the next.

  2. That does look good!

  3. Wow! That looks scrumptious! We’ve had some great Honey Kiss melons which are wonderful. The Sugar Kiss is still too expensive. Watermelons have been so so this year. Your melons look perfect!

    • I wonder where Hawaii gets watermelons? Are they grown on the islands. So far, the only melons in our market are from Mexico and I’m not about to buy those. The watering in Mexico is very iffy. As in your produce might be watered with sewage water.

  4. Funny, my hubby just bought two cantaloupes and peeled them in the same way. Not quite as ripe as yours, but they are delicious! 🙂

  5. I bought a nice cantaloupe from Trader Joe, but it’s nothing like picking them in the field, ripe and warm and lovely.

  6. Yes, we all are paying a terrible price this year.

  7. Nothing better. A California girl, I remember those wonderful melons and so many other fruits that we had in abundance.

  8. We have some wonderful melon growers here in Kansas. I just wish I liked melons. I like watermelon but can’t stand the other stuff.

Leave a Reply

