Hit the pause button

Although I have been up since 5:45 and it is now 9 a.m., I am still in my morning housedress. I have no motivation (or need) to wash my hair, put on my makeup, and get dressed. I have dusted the living and family rooms, fed the cats, read the paper, and did a load of laundry. That will probably be all of today’s chores. Again, little motivation to do much more. All of June has been like this.

Since June 4, I have hit the pause button. Part of that is because I got sick the first weekend of the month. Then I had this pain in my foot which my doctor said is an inflamed peroneus longus. With the use of an NSAID gel, it has improved, but my get-up-and-go has not. I find myself sitting on the couch, reading a book, for hours. And speaking of books, I have lots of them to read. I have been to the book stores a couple of times this month as well as ordering books from Powell’s.

After seeing all the promos and previews for The Astronaut Wives Club, I pulled that book off of the shelf and have been rereading parts. It was fun to watch the first of the series last night. We even watched it “live” rather than our usual practice of recording and watching at another time, fast-forwarding through the commercials. I am following, on Instagram, the woman who did the food scenes for the show. What a kick to see the food, the clothes, the decor, the cars of that era. Oh, and the technology. In 1959 we didn’t have a pause button.

June is my pause button. July will be a wild and crazy month so I’ll just enjoy the lack of activity for now with no need to go get dressed.

 

9 responses to “Hit the pause button

  1. It is great to have some down time Delaine.

  2. Good for you. I would like to take a breather myself.

  3. We all need a period of rest. You especially, I think.

  4. I hope that foot clears up quickly. It’s hard to do anything on a sore foot. Everybody needs some down time, and you are usually going full bore, so it’s good to take a rest now and then. 🙂

    • I was able to keep going, even with the foot pain as it did not hurt when I walked, only when I sat. But, the pain wore me down. I think that’s one reason I just want to relax and do so little. Pain can take so much out of a person.

  5. I was just telling my husband to take it easy. There is absolutely no reason to keep on the go when we are retired.

  6. It’s funny. I was just thinking about housedresses today. I don’t see them any more, although I do have a summer dress that I change into as soon as I get home. I guess it’s my housedress!

    • I have 3 of these dresses I bought long ago. Two are the same style but different fabrics, the third one actually slips over my head and the fabric looks like a tropical beach picture. They might actually be swimsuit coverups since I bought them in that area of the store.

  7. I am very occupied with too many projects right now. I can’t seem to get organized which disrupts my equilibrium. I’m trying to find some peace too.
    DVR has helped my life right now too. At least I don’t have that pressure on me. LOL

Leave a Reply

