Today’s refreshing beverage

Having had iced tea the past two days, I decided to make a blueberry soda when I returned home from running errands. 

Terry and I were out the door by 8:15 so as to drop off his car at the mechanic and the do some grocery shopping. The weather forcast is for 107 degrees today, and I’m attending a funeral during the hottest part of the day. I wanted to get chores done while the temperature was only in the 80s. By the time we got home, just before 9:30, it was 86. 

I filled a glass with ice and poured in the blueberry syrup I got at Fresno State’s farm store. In years past I’ve made my own syrup, but it’s a lot of work. The college’s product is better than any I’ve made. 

 

Next I poured a small bottle of sparkling water over the ice and used one of my stir sticks to mix things up. 

 

Although warm here (okay, downright hot, but I try to stay positive), this is a great way to stay a bit cooler. 

  

7 responses to “Today’s refreshing beverage

  1. It’s going to be between 108 and 110 here for the next week. I do not like this part of summer! That drink does look pretty good.

  2. That looks so refreshing! I’ve decided to start using an electrolyte replacement in my water hydration pack when I hike in the heat. I’ll also look for some blueberry syrup so I can make myself one of these to beat the heat! 🙂

  3. Looks yummy, I make my own soda, much cheaper. We are freezing out here, our summer hasn’t arrived at all. Fire lit today again. Climate change is here for sure.
    XO
    WWW

  4. Looks like a nice drink. Hawaii never gets as hot as Fresno.

  5. This looks delicious! We’ve had some really hot days lately, too. I’m thankful for a swim at the end of the day, just before bed.

  6. Oh yes, yes, yes! That looks fabulous! I could use something like that RIGHT NOW. Hawaii is having a big of a heat wave for the past few days.

  7. 107 degrees! How do you stand it?

Leave a Reply

