Stay away from those negative Nancies (or Nathans)

Sometimes we just feel like whining, don’t we? Things don’t go our way and it seems that the world is crashing down around us. Even I, though I try to stay focused on the positive and wait for God to work, get down in the dumps and feel sorry for myself every now and then. Like with the air conditioning affair. But, moving on…

There should be a 24-hour rule for all of us. Whether we experience victory  and want to celebrate or we are defeated and feel the loss, we should only focus on it for 24 hours. Then move on. If we focus on the loss, it keeps getting worse. There are some people who just keep rehashing the failure or the bad stuff.

We can all be compassionate and offer sympathy, up to a point. When the sympathetic ear takes too much energy, or zaps our joy, then it may be time to move on. There is a cost to being around negative people. Especially if they are always negative and only want to tell you about their problems and issues.

As I get older, I’m finding that I want to spend my time with people I enjoy. I want to be around people who may have problems, but they are also seeking solutions. Seeking solutions and following through to solve their problems. Not keep harping on them.

7 responses to “Stay away from those negative Nancies (or Nathans)

  1. Amen, Delaine! I totally agree with this post. You are an inspiration to many, me included. 🙂

  2. I must admit I am a worrier myself. But good advice.

    • Oh, Christine, I come from hearty worrier stock! My mother worried if she didn’t have something to worry about! My problem is anxiety. I pray daily for that issue.

  3. I had a friend who was always, always down about how terrible her life was and how terrible her past was. If I ever told her about something that wasn’t going well with me, she’d explain an instance where she was suffering so much more. I did feel awful for her, but it got to be quite exhausting. She did have a wonderful, sweet husband and two bright and successful sons. I hope they could add some joy into her life.

  4. They say when you complain you cut the problem in half. I try to remember that because I complain once in a while and need to vent or reduce the problem, and so do others. You are correct, however, its better if we can move on. I feel so much better if I focus on the positive.

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more! Now that I have the luxury of choosing my own schedule I’ve been able to greatly decrease the contact I have with negativity.

Leave a Reply

