Retail experiments

Shopping has never been my forte. Bargains don’t jump out at me. Sales elude me. I’m one of those who seem to pay full price for almost everything I buy. This may be because I have no patience with shopping. Buying is what I want to do, not shopping. If I know what I want, or need, I feel that I should walk into a store, find the product, pay for it, and be out of the store in a matter of minutes. Doesn’t sound too hard, does it, but alas, it is. Until this week.

Target was my first stop, right after they opened at 8 a.m. I had a few coupons. I had my CartWheel deals loaded on my phone. I knew what I wanted to buy. Note the word BUY.

It’s back-to-school time and Target has a great selection of back-to-school supplies. I swoon at back-to-school supplies. The prices were ridiculously low on crayons, markers, pencils, and colored pencils. They had a text-to-phone special, too, that got me even more savings. I loaded up my cart with 25 of each, thinking I would use these as STAR prizes for the first graders at Columbia when I return to my chaplaincy duties. Now I just need to remember that I have all these goodies stashed in the garage and computer room.

Next stop, Barnes and Noble, where I also had a coupon. Three books and a journal. In and out in under 30 minutes.

Because I wear uniform shirts that are blue in color for both Good News Club and the chaplain duties, I wear navy slacks three times a week. The pants I wore last year were beginning to look a bit shabby as well as be stretched out around the waist. I kept thinking I should stop in at Talbots, the only place that has clothes that fit my short, wide body. Since my next stop was Whole Foods to get groceries, and Talbots is right across the road, and the store had just opened at 10 a.m., I decided this was the time to pop in and see what they had.

The Talbots clerk met me at the door and in a matter of minutes found two pair of pants that matched my requirements: navy, washable, front pockets. While I tried them on, she found a couple more, on clearance racks. They all fit so I bought all of them. I was in the store 17 minutes.

The next day I went to Sephora to pick up my birthday gift–Nars lipsticks–taking along a gift from a year or so back that I have recently discovered I love–Make Up Forever lipstick and mascara. With my luck, I figured they no longer carried the brand, but I was happy to find that they did AND the brand had an eyeliner in a color I’ve been trying to find since Lancome quit making it. Why do cosmetic companies quit making a product that I like? Happens a lot. Or to me anyway.

I had received an email from Sephora right before I walked in the store telling me that anything I bought would get double points that day. Smart marketing, those people. Although I have amassed 400 bonus points, none of the gifts appealed, so I just kept my points and took my Nars lipsticks this time around.

Great BUYING experiments this week. Hopefully I’m set and will not need to venture out to retail establishments for awhile.

10 responses to “Retail experiments

  1. I’ve made purchases from Sephora, for toiletries. Bought fall clothes yesterday from Landsend. I never leave my arm chair except for household stuff.

  2. I enjoy browsing and shopping but it takes a lot of time so I don’t do it as much as I would like. Also I need less as I get older!

    • I only go out when I need something, which isn’t real often. I like to find what I want immediately, and go on to do other things. Going from store to store, looking for a particular item just drives me crazy.

  3. Congratulations! It looks like you got a lot done! I really don’t like shopping either, maybe because we tend to be so darn particular.

  4. I’d say you did a bang up job on your day of shopping. I’m never that successful at finding what I want and having coupons to help with the price. My hubby all has all the coupons on his phone. He is a much better shopping that I.

  5. Very productive! I, too, despise shopping. I have never thought it fun to spend a day shopping.

  6. I’m a buyer rather than a shopper, too. Even if I look around, I rarely find things I’m interested in (at least not enough to buy them).

  7. WOW, you did so good. Bravo.
    I did find my new blue shoes on sale….but my biggest problem is that I volunteer in an upscale thrift store. My youngest has given both G and I sweatshirts that read, mr, and mrs shoptilyou drop.

  8. I’ve been a Valu Village shopper for ages and just don’t get out there much, since online since to be the way to go, for me. 🙂

    • I don’t do much online shopping. I buy books from Powell’s and will occasionally order from Talbots as I know what sizes fit me. Not pants though. I really MUST try those on. I like to actually look at and touch what I’m going to buy before I buy it as I am very reluctant to return purchases.

Leave a Reply

