Back in chaplain mode

Thursday morning was our first chaplain meeting for the new school year. We got our schedule of storybooks for the year along with classroom tips and strategies. A new chaplain onboard this year is a retired school psychologist who gave us a presentation on what to look for in abused children.

I came home and immediately started making plans for the next few books as well as looking ahead for what I need to buy or make to add to the delivery of my stories. I also loaded up my chaplain bag with stickers and a few other goodies to head out to back to school later that afternoon at the cross-city school where I do this work. Just the drive across town is a lesson in itself as I go through a variety of neighborhoods, each getting a little sketchier than the previous. Makes me remember to pray for my city and it inhabitants.

Some of you may remember my first post about my chaplain duties. There was a bog named “George” who had a run-in with another boy that had landed him in the office. George was having a melt-down when I arrived and I sat with him for awhile. Talking with him seemed to calm him down. Because he was a fifth grader, I didn’t expect to see George again as I work with the first graders. But, in February I saw George in the office again. He wasn’t in trouble, and I wrote about that time here.

Thursday afternoon, there was George again, this time with his grandmother and his small sister who, it turns out, is in first grade this year. George looked very nice in his pants. His grandmother continues to dress him well. I complimented him and he gave me a hug. He was excited to get to the meeting for the sixth graders who will be going to camp in a few weeks. It is indeed a continuing saga.

3 responses to “Back in chaplain mode

  1. They are so fortunate to have you in their lives, Delaine. I keep thinking about that when I read your posts. You are doing such important work!

  2. Well, good for you and good for George. Way to go!

  3. Wow another school year already underway!

Leave a Reply

