Coloring books are not just for children

Schmidley’s Scribblings recently took up coloring for relaxation. It seems to be the new adult hobby. I get announcements regularly to attend group coloring events. I’m beseeched by coloring books for adults when I go into Barnes & Noble. I’ve even started a new board on Pinterest for art journals.

All that said, I prefer to do my creative tasks by myself. No scrapbooking parties, or coloring book meet ups, no writing retreats, nor painting groups. None of that appeals to me. I want no pressure to perform in my creative pursuits.

I like to have my creative tools in one place so I can sit down for a few minutes to write, to color, to doodle, to cut and paste. Nothing to go hunt down or to set up and then put away. I work in the family room on most of these pursuits, but also at my desk in the computer room.


 I keep a glass vase of pens and pencils in both spots.

Today I’m packing up a carload of art supplies to take to Columbia for a craft afternoon with the Afterschool program, an idea I got from Susie Hileman over at The Burrow. Let’s see how I do in a group setting.

3 responses to “Coloring books are not just for children

  1. I pretty much do my creative activities alone, also.

  2. I hope it all goes well. Quilting: I wouldn’t be quilting if I hadn’t learned to do it in a group. Ditto painting and sculpting.

Leave a Reply

