Social media sharing

I take a lot of pictures. You only see a few here on the blog, but if you go over to my Instagram site you will see them. Pictures of everything. Everywhere I go. People, places, things, food. All thrown there. Some get shared on Facebook and Twitter as it only takes one click to send them to those sites. Some just reside on Instagram.

Everywhere I go, I have my iPhone and that is also my camera. I can upload a photo immediately to Facebook or Instagram, or I can edit the photo in Instagram or PhotoShop Express, an app on the phone. My friends and family all know that I will pull out my phone at any time and start taking pictures. They are all accustomed to it, knowing full well that they will probably show up on Facebook or on this blog. I’ve never had anyone say, don’t post that. Usually I hear, “when will you get that on Facebook?”

It’s fun to tag people on Facebook photos so that all of their friends and family can see the pictures, too. I’ve had one friend say it’s the only time her friends get to see her as she doesn’t post any photos of her own. One friend told me she didn’t know how to post photos so she appreciated me sharing pictures of certain events on my page so she can share with her family.

Since I am a very social animal, I like social media.  I do know, though, that one can get carried away with social media and let it overrun one’s life. I try not to do that. I read an interesting post today, written by a former employee of Twitter. Ginger Riker writes about being a social media addict. I loved these questions:

I think a lot about privacy and our desire to record and share. How much sharing is good sharing? Does it make me feel more connected to people?

I like to think my sharing is good sharing. Some of you dear Readers have commented either here or on your own blog that you don’t share pictures of family and friends. Another line from Ginger Riker’s piece that resonated with me is this:

Will kids who have been recorded since birth resent the online persona their parents have given them?

I see friends on Facebook who post EVERYTHING that their child does, good and not so good. I’m not too sure about this. How will the kids feel when they are older. Those posts are out there, and unless the originator takes them down, will be for anyone to see even though the child has grown up and gone on to other things. How will this social media sharing make a difference in our kids’ lives? How will they integrate it into their life as they get older?

We’ve had an old friend join The Ladies Who Lunch with the help of social media. How did she find us? She googled my name and found my phone number and called. We talked for over an hour, catching up, and then I invited her to join our next lunch group. She did. And she joined us on the road trip. She loved it and hopes to join us again and again. But, she’s not on Facebook. She asked me to text her all of the photos, though, so she can share them with another set of friends who know many of us.

I’m sure glad you have an online presence, Delaine, and all those Google pages so I could easily find you.”

Yes, the value of social media. It does keep us connected.

12 responses to “Social media sharing

  1. It was hard for me to get used to Facebook, but now I’m definitely addicted. It’s the only way I can stay connected with family and friends I see seldom. I don’t use Instagram or Twitter, though. I’ll leave that to others, like you. 🙂

    • Facebook makes me tired on many days. I think some of the stuff that gets posted is just foolishness. Twitter I love because I learn so much from the tweets. That article I quoted in this post was found through Twitter. Instagram is just eye candy.

  2. I take a lot of photos but am careful with online socializing!

  3. My granddaughters have advised me that employers check everything, including what others say about you on FB. So beware.

  4. Not everyone wants their picture on my blog, so I am very sensitive to their feelings about this.

    • I am the only one of my 3D friends with a blog. I wish others would write and post, but they don’t. I am the writer of the group. Also the photographer.

  5. We used to write letters. Did I say that? I remember mother often writing to her brother at her neighborhood bar. As my handwriting vanished, I attacked email with a smile. Now days I rarely answer email preferring to chat on Facebook. I do have a twitter account that I don’t use….oh, guilt. No Instagram. I built giant albums of images on facebook or Snapfish from my old Canon but I will go look at Instagram.

    One grandchild once mentioned that I was always taking pictures when we were together. She’s hiding in the backcountry now, and those old pictures are all I have. Another family stopped putting pictures of her up on Facebook. She asked him not to. Now she is up and flourishing on Facebook again.

    • I’ve started building albums on Shutterfly since that is the app i use to make the grandchildren’s birthday books. I can upload the photos straight from my phone and then work on the photo books on the MacBook Pro.

  6. I struggle with this issue and am sensitive to the desires of others when I take photos and post them. I know some just don’t want photos on social media, so I honor that. I also share little about sensitive issues within my family or with my friends. I think that in time some may really resent having their photos plastered everywhere, so I try to think about that before I post. I often ask for permission before I post anything. I love social media, but others don’t. My grandkids have gone underground with what they post because they don’t want Grandma Sally knowing everything. Privacy is important to teens. I also think openness is just as important. We live in strange times in many ways.

Leave a Reply

