Sometimes a nap makes a world of difference

After my crummy day on Friday, I rested well and headed back to church early Saturday morning to help with the second funeral meal. Rearranging a few flower arrangements, getting place settings on the tables, and making lemonade was really all that was needed of me. There was a larger group of church ladies on Saturday due to it not being a work day. The kitchen was humming and I could see I wasn’t really needed.

I headed out to get groceries for this next week as I will be returning to my school chaplain routine and life will be a bit busier. After doing a few loads of laundry, I landed on the couch, much like Friday, with a cup of tea and my book. It was a cold, gloomy, rainy afternoon, so I pulled my hoody up and nodded off.

Photo on 1-10-16 at 5.44 PM

Awaking, I felt so much better. Imagine, just like a small child, all I needed was a nap.

Today brought sunshine for most of the day. I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon and warmly congratulated by the congregation of our church. Terry tried out for the choir and was kindly accepted into their fold. We came home afterwards to a bowl of warm soup, more laundry, and some yard work. Life is getting back to normal.

9 responses to “Sometimes a nap makes a world of difference

  1. I rarely if ever take naps but get plenty of sleep at night. You look so different in that hoodie! 🙂

    • When teaching I would take a nap on Sunday afternoons, but I no longer nap. No need to as I too get plenty of sleep at night. I guess, though, this time around, I just needed to nod off and do a reset.

  2. Good for you. I am glad you have recovered.

  3. glad to hear you are in better spirits.

  4. Congratulations on your ordination! You and Terry are becoming part of your new church’s fabric.

  5. I’m glad you are feeling better. I haven’t felt let down after the holiday season, mostly because the weather has been splendid, but I do miss all the family that was here. I got a thank you note from my grandson for the gifts we gave him, so that made me feel good.

  6. Wonderful to read that you’ve become a deacon. Be well.

Leave a Reply

