Big winnings?

If you are breathing, then you probably know about the Power Ball Lottery Jackpot that is so big there aren’t enough numbers to display all the money you COULD win. It’s in the news every single day. I’m even reading about it on some of your blogs. So, have I run out and bought tickets? No. And I won’t. Let me tell you why.

Many years ago, when I was teaching, our department secretary (who LOVES to gamble) decided we should win the California Lottery. We were all disillusioned with our jobs at the time and said, “sure, let’s give it a try.” Our secretary collected $5 a week from each of us and bought tickets. Sometimes she just let the machine pick the numbers, sometimes she picked numbers we conjured up on our lunch breaks. One of the tickets might win $5 or $10 which she plowed into next week’s picks. This went on for about two months.

Then it occurred to me that I had invested $50 in this scheme and seen no return. I could have gone out to dinner on that kind of money. As I was lying in bed one night, just ready to dose off, it came to me: if God wanted me to have money without working for it, He would just dump it in my front yard.

I went to school the next day and told the secretary that I was done with the lottery. I would keep my $5 each week. I also told her my revelation. She rolled her eyes and collected from the others who still had those big dreams.

It was garbage pickup the next day and when I got home, the cans needed to be taken out to the curb. As I got the first can out on the street, in front of our house, I looked down and saw a dollar bill lying there. There was my big winnings. This was the kind of money God would allow me to “win” without working for it. I’ve never been involved with a lottery ticket since then.

3 responses to “Big winnings?

  1. It is for fun too Delaine but a lot of people do waste money they don’t have gambling lottery tickets.

  2. I read about a group that always bought tickets. One guy didn’t put in the pot that time AND, of course, that was the time they won millions. He later sued, but lost. That’s $1 story is pretty funny and reminded me of the dollar which came in the mail the other day from some company, UTellUs, to encourage me to join and get paid for opinions. But I’m not ready to accept God’s bounty for me is limited to $1. I’m thinking it’s the Tempter trying to make me accept limitation. I do agree that some people go too far with this lottery thing, spending thousands buying tickets in every number combination. My thinking is one $2 ticket, when it’s a huge pot, just because one never knows.

  3. I rarely if ever buy a lottery ticket. I saw a line of people going for blocks and blocks trying to buy one of these Powerball tickets. If that many people buy them, and STILL nobody wins, it just doesn’t make sense to me. Plus I don’t know what I would do with all that money. 🙂

Leave a Reply

