Rainy Sunday

Terry got the mulberry tree in the front yard pruned before this storm arrived.


Our lunch at The Blue Coyote Cafe was quite lovely. I enjoy seeing high school students and especially partaking of their project-based learning.

Terry had the apple stuffed chicken breast served with cauliflower purée:

I had the short ribs with mascarpone grits.

Our daughter sent a photo of our granddaughter and son-in-law as they were leaving for Leeya’s first father-daughter dance. She said they had a wonderful time which does not surprise me. Leeya loves to dress up.

12628436_10153837952970761_6196987259292232488_o

After our wonderful lunch on Friday, I stayed home on Saturday and did a few household chores and read my book. By the end of the day, though, I was feeling rather sad and useless. Funny how that works. I really did just want to be lazy for the day but then felt bad when I accomplished so little.

Today is our church’s annual meeting and a potluck lunch. I’m taking a blue cheese and pear salad with pecans. I love to have a meal at church after Sunday’s  service. I don’t have to come home and figure out what we’ll eat. Usually we have soup that I made earlier in the week for lunch on Sundays because it’s so easy to heat up leftovers. But if I’ve not made soup, we might just have quesadillas and sliced fruit. My meals are getting simpler as I get older.

4 responses to “Rainy Sunday

  1. I think soup is a perfect thing for a rainy day. Nothing wrong with simplicity. 🙂

  2. your lunch looks delicious! There was a time when it was not raining where you are! Your granddaughter looks lovely with dad.

  3. Sounds perfect to me. 🙂 Still recovering from the storm here. I’m grateful they took out the very much leaning over tree out in front of our place too.

Leave a Reply

