A clear calendar

We are staying home on this holiday weekend, away from crowds and traffic. I helped with coffee fellowship this morning, after church, taking my caramel corn and orange muffins to share for a summer kick-off. But other than that brief responsibility, I am free for the next week. 

That’s right, an empty calendar. No where to go. No responsibilities  beyond my own door. I even went to our storage unit and pulled out the summer patio furniture with plans to just sit in my backyard and enjoy my freedom. Here is the view this afternoon:


Although 93 degrees, there is a nice breeze that makes it tolerable. The forecast is for 100+ degrees later this week so I will have to enjoy the backyard in the early mornings on those days. Cool drinks and books to read are also in my forecast. 

8 responses to “A clear calendar

  1. How nice! I’m glad you are taking some time for renewal for yourself. That sure does sound hot to me, though. I’m a Pacific Northwest flower these days. 🙂

  2. Kind of hot over there in Fresno, but do enjoy the freedom.

  3. It sounds like a great chance to recharge your batteries.

  4. sounds like the perfect weekend!

  5. That sounds lovely. Here in the sixties and damp.

  6. I have experienced the end of the school year frenzy at my grandchildren’s school. The Seattle schools do a great job with the students, in the face of crowding, run down school buildings and classrooms and all the other manifestations of under funding. The teachers looked tired and some beyond burnout. I hope for a nice summer for them and that they return refreshed and ready for another year.

  7. Your plans sound heavenly!

Leave a Reply

