What did you do today?

It’s the heart of summer, coming up on Independence Day. The heat is treacherous in the San Joaquin Valley. 103 degrees today. A bit cooler from Tuesday’s 106. I try to get chores, tasks, and errands done by noon. That means we’ve been getting up at 5:30 this week. 

This morning, after I grocery shopped at 7:30, I turned on the oven and got started making tiny pies. Here is one of blackberry pies:


I also made peach and apricot. A total of 60 tiny pies that will be picked up this evening by a friend who works for a neighboring county humane society. They are having a fundraiser, selling baked goods at a local festival. I offered some of my treats if she’ll take my 4 kittens. She agreed. 

Baked, boxed, and ready to go:


That was the bulk of my Thursday productivity. 

5 responses to “What did you do today?

  1. They look simply wonderful! Well done, as usual. 🙂

  2. Sure these will sell quickly, yum!

  3. You are a wonder!

Leave a Reply

