Surviving on Benadryl

I was attacked by biting insects yesterday. My legs and arms, and especially my ankles, are covered with itchy. painful welts. Sleeping was difficult last night.

The ankle bites probably came from church. Our pastor has built a boat, and using it as metaphor, preached a few sermons around the experience. Yesterday he brought it to show the congregation, parking it in the hinterlands of the parking lot. I walked across tall grass to go out to see it. Then, later, stood under the large shade trees to enjoy refreshments and fellowship, all while the bugs were taking refreshment from me! I didn’t feel or see anything at the time.

In the afternoon, because it was cooler than previous days, I went out to rake leaves that have begun to fall from the mulberry tree. Raking and lifting the piles of leaves to dump into the green waste can probably brought about the bites on my arms and more on my legs. Those welts look different from the ankle bites which is more of a rash than welts. Again, though, I didn’t actually see the varmints that attacked me. Just their aftermath.

The itching is almost unbearable. I keep smearing Benadryl cream on my skin and ingesting Benadryl capsules to keep me just barely sane.  My plan had been to go out early this morning and prune in the backyard, but I can barely concentrate enough to write this, and I don’t want to get any more bug bites. I don’t think I have enough Benadryl.

8 responses to “Surviving on Benadryl

  1. Wow! That is some response to whatever it was that bit you, or attacked you in whatever fashion. If it were me, I think I would have visited the local Urgent Care clinic. Remember to keep track of those Benadryl tablets; too much can be dangerous. Sending you big hugs and hoping you’re better soon. 😦

  2. Are you sure the rash on your ankles isn’t poison oak/poison ivy/poison sumac? I usually use OTC cortisone cream (better than topical Benadryl) and add Pepcid (the stomach medicine) to the Benadryl – it’s also an antihistamine. Good luck.

    • Good to know about the Pepcid along with Benadryl as I have some here. I don’t think we have poison sumac here in the valley. It is in the mountains, though. The bugs really love me and it seems like I constantly have one or two bites. Right now there are so many I can’t count them.

  3. I’m so sorry, Delaine. I can really relate to your agony. I go through it every so often here and can’t figure out what is biting me. The Benedryl works a bit for me. Applying After Bite immediately after being bitten really helps a LOT too.

  4. Oh dear. These days I seldom am bitten. Insects don’t seem to find me very tasty. I’ve read that some people have a resitance tp insects, while others don’t David has the problem like yours, he’s tasty.

  5. Oh no so very sorry! We have been lucky no mosquitos to soeak of around here so far

  6. It might be worth a try to see if one of those clip-on bug repellants keep bugs and mosquitos away when working outside. I usually clip one to my waist band when walking and seems to work on everything except humming birds chasing me and bees.

  7. I hope it’s not fire ants. They are the worst.

Leave a Reply

