Continuing my thoughts on the plagues

My last post about the plagues has kept me thinking about the way we are living. I cannot be fearful, as that is no way to live. God has always taken very good care of us and I trust God to continue to care for us. The current situation, though, has made me very introspective, and since I read the Bible every day, I have been on the lookout for what God might have to say to me from His word.

Yesterday I was reading the prophet Zechariah. Zechariah was a prophet during the time of rebuilding the temple and wall in Jerusalem after the  Hebrews had returned from Babylonian captivity. His messages gave energy and credibility to God’s purposes being worked out in the Hebrews’ lives. I prefer reading Eugene Peterson’s paraphrase of the Bible.

In Chapter 7 I came across these words spoken by God to Zechariah:

You’re interested in religion. I’m interested in people.

Treat one another justly. Love your neighbor. Be compassionate with each other. Don’t take advantage of widows, orphans, visitors, and the poor. Don’t plot and scheme against one another–that’s evil.

Seems pretty simple, what God wants us to do. Yet, we seem to be a hard-hearted bunch who, like those in Jerusalem, have trouble obeying the simple commands.

5 responses to “Continuing my thoughts on the plagues

  1. Have you ever read “The Source” by James Michener? Humans seem to have a proclivity for disobedience.

  2. We should be good and assume the world is not coming to an end, agreed.

  3. Yes, that is simple and loving.

Leave a Reply

