Connections made over the years, over the miles

A couple of months ago I wrote a post about seeing a couple of women, close to my age, enjoying a conversation over a cup of coffee at Barnes & Noble. I was lamenting how I did not have these kinds of meetings with friends. This week I did.

An online friend of mine came through Fresno on her way to a writer’s retreat in New Mexico, and I chastised her for not stopping. She said she could stop on the way home if I could manage the date. Yes, I could. She would swing off the highway and meet me at a Starbucks inside a Target.

We have known one another for more years than I can determine. I know I was still teaching. I had a flickr account and enjoyed sharing photos, and somehow we connected through a group for teachers. We were the only California teachers. She in Chico, me in Fresno. A half a state away from one another. She taught junior high, I taught high school. I had a blog. She had a blog.

It was like old friends getting together when we met in 3D. Just like last year when I met up with a CompuServe friend from way back. Her name is Lynn and so is this friend. Imagine, two Lynns. Two long-time online friends. We sat and talked for over an hour about all sorts of things. Our families. Our careers. She will be retiring after this year so we threw retirement ideas into the mix.

She had to get back on the road. It’s over five hours from Fresno to Chico. I was sorry to see her go and wished she lived closer.

This is the selfie Lynn took to post on Facebook.

Delaine & Lynn

6 responses to “Connections made over the years, over the miles

  1. what a great reunion!

  2. well it sounds a bit like a reunion

  3. These encounters are wonderful. I’m glad you had such a good time. I cherish the friends I have made via blogging and have even been able to visit with several of them.

  4. I enjoy these kinds of meetings, too. Coffee and conversation are wonderful things to share. 🙂

  5. Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other gold. I’m coming to CA in October to visit my son and his family in San Diego. Wish you lived closer.

  6. Pingback: Planning | Dkzody's Weblog

Leave a Reply

