When friends are gone

It’s been nine years since I took up residence at this URL. I don’t post every day, but I visit other bloggers on a daily basis. A few I actually drop in on every single day, others get a visit on a less regular basis. Sometimes it’s months before I get back to a blog, especially if the blogger doesn’t write on a consistent basis. Last night I checked in on one of those writers only to find that she had died on September 1, just weeks before her 50th birthday. Her husband has taken up the task of writing on her blog, to let her readers know what happened. Helly was such a vibrant, exuberant redhead. It’s as if a light has been turned off.

It made me so sad to read of her demise. Her ending was slow and agonizing. Doctors couldn’t seem to get the right diagnosis. Medicine failed her. Helly often wrote about her husband. She adored him. They did so many things together. They had such fun living life. As you can imagine, he is bereft. The life they built is but an empty shell now that she is gone. All the the things that mattered no longer do so. He writes that it is just “stuff” now.

I never met the redheaded Helly from Atlanta in person, but I so enjoyed her writing, as I do so many of you, that I felt I knew her. You open your life’s door and let me come in for a moment. You share the good, the bad, and sometimes the ugly. Although we aren’t sitting at a table, across from one another, sharing a cup of coffee, you still allow my comments and thoughts to penetrate your world. I appreciate that aspect of the blogging community. You are indeed my friends and I wish you a happy, healthy life. Please keep writing. I’ll be by to see you.

8 responses to “When friends are gone

  1. It’s too bad you did not get a chance to say good-bye to her before her death.

  2. Lovely. Thanks Delaine. You are so right about this being a community. When we met in person I felt like I’d known you for years, which in a way, I have!

  3. I am so sad that another blogger has passed away at a too young age. My sincere condolences to all who love her. You remind me that I need to tell my husband how to write a post just in case it happens unexpectedly to me. 😦

  4. so sorry to hear your news Delaine, I experienced the same kind of shocking loss last year I think it was.

  5. I think of the bloggers I read on a regular basis as a virtual family.

  6. This brought a tear to my eye. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  7. We really do get to know each other pretty well from our blogs since we might say more to our blog friends consistently than we do the friends we see in person. I’m so sorry for your loss, Delaine. How wonderful of her husband to let everyone know.

Leave a Reply

