Gone are the days of bright-eyed & bushy-tailed

There was a time when I could travel away from home for days, return late in the day and be at work the next morning, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. Those days have passed.

I still keep a bag packed with necessities so that getting ready to exit my home doesn’t take a lot of preparation but I feel I need a day before a trip to make final home preparations. Then, upon returning, I need a day of re-entry. That day is today.

We visited our kids this weekend, a three-hour trip to the Bay Area. Of course, the traffic, each time we go, gets more dense, more chaotic. We saw three accidents on Hwy 101 and the remnants of two others. Drivers want to drive faster and closer than it is safe to do. Few seem to understand that trucks are bigger and heavier than cars, cannot stop on a dime, and will do irreparable damage should you collide.

Although we got home fairly early yesterday, we did nothing but visit with neighbors and reacquaint ourselves with our cats who missed us something terrible. I was sound asleep by 8:30 and slept in this morning until 6:30. There are numerous chores that need to be done around here, and except for watering the lawns, I’ve done none of them. This re-entry day seems to lack for a determined spirit.

I must get up and get started, though, because, except for today, the week is packed with activities, actually beginning with a charity event this evening. All those chores and errands must be run before I look into my closet and decide what to wear to the event. Oh, to be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.

6 responses to “Gone are the days of bright-eyed & bushy-tailed

  1. I love the thought of being bright-eyed and bushy tailed too…sigh

  2. I hear you, Delaine. I’ve just returned from a five-day intensive writers’ retreat and am having my re-entry day today. Laundry is almost finished. Whew! 🙂

  3. I’m right there with ya.

  4. I so identify with the struggle to get back on track after a day or so away. To think I used to do this all the time …

    • I know! This is one piece of getting older that really annoys me, that I cannot keep up the pace I did when younger. There is still so much I want to do. And, I want my brain to function well all day.

Leave a Reply

