A change in the regularly scheduled program

This week will be a break from school chaplaincy. Columbia is having parent-teacher conferences all week which calls for dismissal right after lunch. No time for storytelling. It’s also the week leading up the Civil War reenactment at Kearney Park.

Things get really hectic at the Fresno Historical Society’s offices during the war, so I will be there answering phones and doing piece-meal office jobs. It also means I will be working a regular 9-5 day. Although I don’t attend the actual Civil War events that will occur next weekend, I will be around on Thursday and Friday for the school events when 8th graders take over the park and get to learn historical facts through watching reenactors playing such figures as Abraham Lincoln, Harriet Tubman, Jefferson Davis, Clara Barton, and others. The historical figures are served lunch in the offices so I get to mingle with them.

It will be a fast week with long days. I keep telling myself that this is good for me as it keeps my office skills sharp and it’s a change of scenery. Don’t want to get in a rut.

7 responses to “A change in the regularly scheduled program

  1. Enjoy the week it sounds busy

  2. You’ll need some time off after all that! I would, anyway. 🙂

  3. You are going to be worn out, but you are going to have a ball.

  4. Two days in and I am reminded of the politics of working in an office with numerous personalities.

  5. Ha ha. I love my rut. Told my grandson about your work with the missions and he showed me the replica of the mission he made in fourth grade. Looked like one of yours.

  6. Good going! I’m always busier than I think I want to be but then I’m glad I have kept active.

Leave a Reply

