Saltine toffee 

This is that recipe I was trying while doing a few other chores:


Yep, it’s made with a layer of saltines. A layer of caramel, made with a cube of butter and one half cup brown sugar, is poured over the crackers and baked for 4 to 5 minutes at 400 degrees. That’s where I lost track. I was also melting the white chocolate chips and moving laundry from washer to dryer. Some of the cracker base got burned:


The unburned pieces you see in the top picture aren’t too bad. It’s certainly a different type of candy. I would mix the nuts into the melted white chocolate if I made this again. They don’t stick very well. 

9 responses to “Saltine toffee 

  1. It still looks awfully good to me. Mmmmm. 🙂

  2. Looks good, but I would be afraid of the toffee pulling out my crowns. Lol.

  3. I’m laughing! I do this kind of stuff all the time. The other day I made a souffle, undercooked it and forgot to serve a side dish with it. I like to tell myself it’s because I’m a creative person and not just a flake!

  4. This sounds like fun to do.

  5. They look pretty yummy still. :))

Leave a Reply

