Riding in cars

Riding in cars, especially for four hours, is not good for one’s sciatica. Nor is being squished in the backseat, between two car seats with small children. I’ve done both in the last two days.

We had an uneventful trip on Sunday to the bay area. Even though we left late in the day (late for us, anyway), we still made good time and with no stops. Terry drove the entire trip as we took his car this time. Usually we take the Subaru and I drive part of the way.

On Monday, instead of going into San Francisco to the auto show, we changed plans and stayed in San Mateo as Jen’s car was not functioning properly. She has a Scion that requires a fob to work correctly to start the car. It refused to do so. Our son-in-law had a meeting in San Francisco with water engineers. The timing of his meeting and the car situation did not make for good timing for the auto show. Jen needed our car to ferry our grandchildren to school and after-school activities. In the afternoon, we all piled into Terry’s car to do this, meaning I sat in the back, squished between the car seats. Oy vey.

At the parks and recreation center, where Leeya goes for dance class, I sat on a couch that had a deep hole. Again, probably not best for my sciatica. Afterwards, I climbed into the backseat and off we went to dinner. By now it was getting cold and even the restaurant was chilly. I could feel my body tensing.

On Tuesday we got an early start and should have been home by 1 p.m. However, only 20 miles or so from Fresno we came to a complete stop on the freeway. There had been an accident a couple of miles ahead and both lanes were blocked. We had to wait while the road was cleared, the truck moved to the side, and one lane of traffic was allowed through at a time. That added another hour to the trip. So, four hours of sitting in the car. Terry had been smart and stopped at a halfway point, at Starbucks, and gotten out to stand and walk, but I just stayed put.

Today my sciatica is screaming. I’ve done my exercises, which has helped. I’m standing and walking and doing as little sitting as I can. I have apple dumplings baking in the oven as I type this. I also made bruschetta earlier and grocery shopped. Our kids texted that they got an early start and will be here soon.

Tomorrow we are all going up the hill to our son-in-law’s mother’s place for Thanksgiving lunch. More riding in cars.

6 responses to “Riding in cars

  1. Well happy Thanksgiving anyway. I know the pain of sciatica and apart from crunching around like a pretzel on all fours there is no comfortable position. I hope it leaves you soon😱
    XO
    WWW

  2. Ow! Double ow! I sure wish there didn’t have to be more car riding in your immediate future. I now whereof you speak. 😦

  3. Oy Vey indeed. I don’t know much about sciatica but will pain patches help?

  4. Oh, this sounds like a nightmare scene! I hope you feel better soon and that your Thanksgiving is smooth and fun.

Leave a Reply

