Happy Thanksgiving from California

Thank you all, dear Readers, for the kind thoughts concerning my sciatica pain. I did my exercises on Wednesday, and will continue to do so even though it’s Thanksgiving. No holiday for those exercises. The pain has subsided and I’m moving smoothly in the direction of Thanksgiving dinner. My son-in-law’s mother is hosting the holiday at the club house at her new apartment. Many of you will love the name of where she lives–The Grandmother’s Village. You must be a grandmother to live there!

I awoke during the night, a bit uncomfortable and needing to move, and thought of all the amazing blessings for which I am thankful. Except for the twinge of sciatica, I have good health. I have a good home, a good husband, good friends, lots of good food to eat, and more than enough good work to do. My kids are doing well (except Leeya has a chest cold right now and is coughing as I type this). They are happy, and that’s what matters.

I met our new neighbors yesterday and they appear to be a delightful young couple who just bought their first home. I hope they spend many years in the neighborhood. The neighbors on the other side of us, the sisters as I call them because they are sisters, have been there for 16 years and are very good neighbors. They now care for our cats when we travel. We have one house on the street that has its issues, but for the most part, this is a lovely neighborhood with good people, for which I am thankful.

Speaking of neighborhoods, this one is convenient to many stores and services. Although I would prefer to walk, I have to drive to them, but they are all close by. There are areas in this city that do not have grocery stores or drug stores, or any store except a liquor store, nearby. Without adequate transportation (another blessing here at the Zody’s) people have to travel by bus to buy their groceries or haul them long distances, on foot. Life becomes even harder for the elderly in those neighborhoods.

With a grateful heart, I say thanks on this day set aside for just such feelings of gratitude. Life is good here in California, at the Zody’s house. Wishing all of my dear Readers a blessed Thanksgiving. May life be good for you, too.

4 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving from California

  1. Have a wonderful holiday!

  2. I’m so glad that things are going so well in your neck of the woods, and that your sciatica is getting better. Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

  3. Best wishes to you in this holiday season.

  4. I’m a bit late because it’s a little crazy over here, but I wanted to wish you a very happy holiday season. I’m so sorry you’re experiencing such pain, but glad there are other happy things to enjoy in your life.

Leave a Reply

