Too many books, not enough time

The second Sunday of Advent. Our church looks so lovely in its holiday attire.


We had Christmas lunch after church–tri tip barbecue because this is California. The men of the church barbecued and it was very delicious. Even better, I didn’t have to come home and fix lunch. Instead, I came home to read all afternoon. I’ve plenty of books and could use a whole week of afternoons, but for now, I’ll be happy with a long Sunday one.


9 responses to “Too many books, not enough time

  1. Let me know if any of these books is a “must read” one. I’m curious about “Hillbilly Elegy.” 🙂

    • I’ve gotten quite a ways into Hillbilly…it’s a bit of an eyeopener about Ohio which I know nothing about. Always pictured it to be a lot like Iowa, lots of open farmland, but I guess there are small towns where manufacturing was king and is no longer. I’ve always lived in California and I see the world through my west coast lens.

      • I’m almost finished with Tana French mystery. I love her work. This one has some jarring language but I just try to put it aside and go for the meat of the story. The characters, and their language, make the story, so it’s all necessary.

  2. Yep. I know the feeling. But it’s delicious.
    XO
    WWW

  3. I’m hearing some good things about Hillbilly Elegy. Carlos Lozzada (WaPo) also recommends ‘White Trash’ which I read.

    Washington Post had a review of the Friedman book thie past Sunday. (David Henkin, p.1)

    • Have not even opened Freedman’s book except to read a bit while in the bookstore. It was enough to engage me, though, and want to read more.

      • Thank You for Being Late is turning out to be a great read. It’s one of those that really makes you think about the way you live your life. Push pause.

  4. What a delightful gift to yourself. I stayed in bed late this morning with a truly useless book, and it was a delightful extra half hour. 🙂 I’ll check out those books now.

Leave a Reply

