Yay for social media so I can tell you a story

I’ve said this many times before, both here and elsewhere: I love social media. I love technology. It has all made my life so much richer. Just last Sunday, while waiting for congregants to arrive for Christmas Day church service, one of the members, in his early 80s, took out his iPhone and said to me, “I just love this texting stuff and everything we can do now.” Yep, had to agree.

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, and other platforms have become such a part of our life, it’s hard to imagine how we lived without them. As people come up with more innovative types of content and ways to distribute them, social media will only get bigger.

My church friend went on to tell me about a young relative of his, not doing well in school, for whom he bought an iPhone and iPad. The boy’s grades improved. He became more involved at school. Next, the gentleman, on his phone, scrolls over some photos and shows me one of the young relative, receiving an award at his school. The technology made the difference. Yay for technology.

11 responses to “Yay for social media so I can tell you a story

  1. good for you so adaptive to all those social platforms!

    • I try to do different things on each one. Like this story, for instance, is only told here, on my blog. My snarky side comes out on Twitter. I try to keep up with friends on Facebook. And instagram is just a fun place for me to share photos.

  2. I only use Facebook and blogging, but maybe I should give those others a try. That’s a great story about that young boy and his concerned relative. 🙂

  3. I blog most of the time, and use Facebook just to see photos of my grandkids.

  4. I’m with you. I’m still startled by the numbers of elders who refuse to embrace it and seem fearful.

    A great New year 2017 to you and yours.
    XO
    WWW

  5. Sometimes I have to push myself to keep up with technology but I can’t imagine living without it.

  6. I love your enthusiasm.
    Living where I do, I would be bored out of my mind without the internet and social media.
    Happy New Year to you and yours!

  7. And my old company AT&T invented most of it via Bell Labs and under contract to the federal government.

Leave a Reply

