Optimism in the morning

Morning, early morning, is my time of the day. Although I prefer summer mornings when the air is warm and the sun is up before me, even winter mornings can bring a sense of optimism when I wake up, all cozy under the layers of blankets. I don’t spring out of bed quite as quickly in the winter as I do in the summer, preferring to lie there and savor a new day, thinking about what I can accomplish. A new day, summer or winter, holds so much promise.

So, this morning, waking up to a new day, a new week, a new month, and a new year, gives me great cause for optimism. Again, I lie there, snug under those warm blankets, while it’s still dark, and think about all I can accomplish this year. The contacts I can make, the people I can get to know, the places to go, the things I can learn and try.

So many possibilities that it’s overwhelming for now. I will take it one morning at a time. For this new day, I am planning on a morning at church, setting up the communion elements (a new task for me), meeting and greeting other congregants (many new friends I made this past year), wishing them a Happy New Year (so trite but time-honored), and worshipping a Lord who has given me another morning of possibility and optimism.

7 responses to “Optimism in the morning

  1. A wonderful attitude for facing the new year. I am also a morning person.

  2. Love your optimism for 2017!

  3. I think optimism is underrated in the pursuit of a happy life. Thanks for this wonderfully upbeat post. 🙂

  4. Wishing You a wonderful New Year from the North Bay (of San Francisco)

  5. I’m an optimist by nature, but I’m also a realist. So, while I don’t suffer from depression I feel sad right now. I wish I had your energy, so I could do more for others than I do.

Leave a Reply

