More about that homeless conversation

Of all those conversations I wrote about yesterday, the one about homeless and those unable to care for themselves has more to it than I originally wrote. Yes, I am concerned about older homeless citizens that I have been seeing on the north end of our town. I do wonder who looks out for those who are without family or friends. Even citizens who seem to be secure can be in danger should they become unable to make decisions for themselves.

A little closer to home, though, involves a situation with a young woman who showed up on our doorstep two separate times looking for a place to stay. I don’t know the girl. Never saw her before. The first time she rang our doorbell, late in the evening asking for a safe house, was such a surprise to me that I could only think to send her to a nearby fire station. A few evenings later we returned after dark to find the same girl resting near our garage. This time I was better prepared to ask some questions and try to find a solution for her.

Her answers and demeanor gave me pause. I tried calling different agencies such as the police and then a help line but no one could give me a definite answer. The best I could offer was to take the girl to a homeless shelter that is across town. I thought I had her convinced but at the last minute she changed her mind and walked away. She allowed me to pray for her and give her some water and juice before leaving.

The next day I tried some other agencies and one gave me a referral to a place for single women. It’s far from our house. The woman must be there at 3 pm for intake interview with check-in at 4:30. There are only 40 beds and they have been full every night for months. I am not surprised, but I’m not too sure how to get this girl to the place. I’ve not seen her since last week and may never see her again.

There is a need for a homeless shelter on this side of town, but I doubt it will ever happen. No one wants these places in their neighborhood. It is all perplexing to me. I like to find solutions to problems, but this one is way over my head.

11 responses to “More about that homeless conversation

  1. How interesting. Sounds like there may be some mental illness or substance abuse in that one. I would have no idea how to handle such a situation.

  2. This is a very alarming situation, she should not be showing up at your door like that. It is commendable that you are trying to help her. At the same time please think of your own safety.

    • Yes, I am aware of the danger of talking to strangers. I’m not planning to take anyone I don’t know into my house.That’s why I’ve been on the phone, seeking assistance.

  3. Oh, I probably would send her away. Too dangerous having strangers in our home.

    • No, I wouldn’t let someone into our house. I’ve heard too many grizzly tales of people who allowed someone in their home and never got them out again. I value my privacy and the calm of my own house. I would never jeopardize that.

  4. We’ve had a problem in Hawaii with women asking to use the bathroom because they were pregnant or whatever and then coming back later to rob what they’d seen. It’s a sad situation all around where you don’t know who you can trust. You were wonderful to try to get that young woman some help. We would probably have tried to do something similar.

    • A situation that has occurred here in our town is a woman coming to the door and as the door is opened wider, two men force their way inside. This happens with those who are known to have large amounts of cash in their home. We seldom have any cash of any sort nor do we have anything of value in our home. One can see our 1995 television from the front window. I’m sure people feel sorry for us.

  5. This troubles me a bit. Maybe because I’ve seen too many crime dramas. But like others have said, sometimes these people scope out a neighborhood looking for someone to victimize. Even more alarming, they remember your kindness and later come back with others to do something dastardly. It’s difficult not to help, but what I’ve learned that helps me is to remember people are where they are in life for a reason. That they have the same God looking after and working through them that I do. Let go and let God.

    • I hear you, Shirley. I am highly cautious. That’s why all the research into a place for this young woman to go to. I’m not taking anyone into my home as I don’t have the resources to do that. I don’t believe our city, though, has the resources to help all the people who need help. We have lots of “throw aways,” which is sad. I don’t believe God’s people should be suffering.

  6. Pingback: A follow-up on the homeless girl I tried to help | Dkzody's Weblog

Leave a Reply

