In the kitchen with delaine

Yesterday I started my weekend of food prep. I signed up for coffee fellowship for this particular Sunday because it’s close to Valentine’s Day and I can use that as my theme for the food I will serve to the congregants after church services.

There will be coffee, of course, and a pink colored beverage made with cherry/apple juice, 7-Up and sparkling water.

On Friday I made 7 layer bars but with white chips and dried cranberries rather than chocolate chips and raisins. Then I made a pan of brownies. Before I ended my day, I picked up two roasted chickens at the grocery store and a couple loaves of French bread.

This morning started with making a big bowl of chicken salad made with those chickens, green onion, celery, almonds, and more dried cranberries. Using those loaves of bread, I cut heart shaped pieces of bread and constructed three dozen little sandwiches. Doing that created a whole bunch of leftover bread so I cut it up into small pieces and put it in a bowl of cream, sugar, cinnamon, and eggs to soak over night. Tomorrow morning I’ll bake it into bread pudding with caramel sauce.

I have red and white paper products, heart-shaped truffles, and those little conversation hearts. Another lady is bringing chocolate-dipped strawberries. I think it will make for a festive coffee and conversation time.

 

7 responses to “In the kitchen with delaine

  1. You know, for the sake of my health I’m glad I don’t live nearby, or I’d be snarfing down some of that bread pudding! Caramel sauce, you say? 🙂

  2. I knew there was a reason I don’t go to church. That sounds like a lot of work. Hope it all goes well and it sounds like it will be very pretty.

    • Linda, we wouldn’t force you to take part in coffee fellowship after the service! Lots of people don’t stay around. Nor are most Sundays very elaborate with the refreshments. Cookies and coffee are the usual. I just like to do something extra. I don’t do the refreshments too often. I also chose this Sunday because it’s near Valentines, a holiday I really like.

  3. Sounds like you’ve done a great job!

  4. You went the extra mile. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

