Warm weather must be coming

I am trying to convince myself that we have turned a corner. It is now light when we arise at 6 a.m. I am no longer turning on lamps until after 5:30 p.m. It is my hope that the gloom of winter has passed. Today is bright and sunny, but still cold. The heater continues to run all day. I heard it come on numerous times last night. Frost every morning. But, and this is what I’m holding out for, high 60s and low 70s promised by next weekend.

There hasn’t been any rain for a few days so we are drying out. The big puffy clouds roll across the sky, but no precipitation has come from them here in the valley. The local mountains, however, got snow on Friday. It can snow until July in the hills for all I care, as long as the sun shines here. I am done, done, done with winter, and especially cold weather.

Today I wore my brightly colored giraffe jacket to church and received numerous compliments. I mentioned to one friend that I had worn it to brighten and cheer my mood.

“Oh, dear you are always so cheerful,” she replied.

“Not of late. Sad, depressed, glum. Those are the words describing me.”

She tsk tsk’ed and moved on to talk to someone else, probably someone a little more cheerful. Warm, sunny days will do so much to help lighten my mood. I’m counting on it.

5 responses to “Warm weather must be coming

  1. Spring will be here before you know it!

  2. I’m ready for warm sunny days but it’s way too soon for us.

  3. We just don’t have any winter but our monsoon season goes on for months and we sometimes feel the same 🙂

    • Gray, cloudy days are just so gloomy. Due to the last few years of drought, we had more sunshine during our winter months. Although I am happy we have rain, I miss the sunny days. I need to live in San Diego.

  4. In my opinion, the end of winter is the worst part of the year.

Leave a Reply

