Who understands opioid use and overdoses?

Can someone explain this to me:

The C.D.C.’s numbers show that 91 people in the United States die every day from opioid overdose.

The five states with the highest rates of death linked to drug overdose were West Virginia (41.5 per 100,000), New Hampshire (34.3 per 100,000), Kentucky (29.9 per 100,000), Ohio (29.9 per 100,000), and Rhode Island (28.2 per 100,000), according to the C.D.C.

Why?

11 responses to “Who understands opioid use and overdoses?

  1. Because no one knows how to stop the use. Because doctors keep prescribing far too many pain pills. Because they’re a cheap high. Because there are big bucks in illegal sales. Because the education programs have not made a dent.
    There is evidence that opioid poisoning is statistically down among toddlers.
    Ohio has a few deaths daily. Use is heaviest in this state in the poor, rural areas; the ones that keep this state red.
    That’s all I know; over and out.

  2. When I was in an accident and broke my pelvis in 2000, the doctor put me on oxycontin. I took it for a month or so and could not get off it. I tried everything and the doctor had no idea why it was so hard to get off. It only takes 7 days before you are fully addicted. I suffered mightily to get myself off them, and it was only because I was so determined that I succeeded. I got no help from the doctors, and I had a friend who could not break the cycle and she ended up committing suicide. I truly understand how addictive these substances are. I know that is why so many are overdosing. They are horrible.

    • Thank you, DJan, for sharing your personal testimony to what these drugs can do. Sounds like the doctors are to blame for this epidemic. I’m glad you were able to come clean, and I’m sorry you lost a friend to the madness of the drug.

    • So very sad :(. I am sorry for the loss of your friend. I am also glad you were able to break the habit!

  3. Back in the seventies I had some small elective surgery and was sent home with a codeine containing pain med. It proved useless for me, I didn’t take it more than three days. The day I didn’t take it I lay awake all night, literally stiff as a board. I realized that was withdrawal. It was a good thing for me to know.

    • Joanne, I think everyone’s body is different. Yet, doctors see us all as one big body that will react the same, no matter what. It appears we need the doctors to change their thinking about opioids and better understand each patient’s needs.

  4. I am allergic to every type of pain medicine I have tried, and maybe that is a good thing?

    • I too cannot tolerate meds, except some in very tiny amounts. My dr knows this and won’t prescribe much. Even when she does, I question her left and right about the side effects and exactly what the drug does. I have gotten some very long lessons in drug chemistry.

  5. Thanks for the heads up on opioid.

  6. It is really sad.

Leave a Reply

