Seeking my old healthy self

On Wednesday I hit a wall. The throat tickle and cough brought me down. I could hardly get out of bed so had to call and cancel my storytelling with the first graders. At 8 o’clock I was at the urgent care office that our medical group operates near our home. No appointment necessary, just show up. Terry had gone there a few months ago and was pleased with the service and results. I too found the facility to be very accommodating. I saw a doctor about 20 minutes after walking in. He agreed with me–allergies, but the buildup of phlegm had probably caused bacteria to start growing and he diagnosed bronchitis. My lungs are clear, so there was some good news.

I returned home and got back in bed. Terry went to the pharmacy to get the z-pac prescribed by the doctor. I was in pretty bad shape all day, and still suffering with coughing spasms. This morning is somewhat better and I am dressed and ready to leave for school in a short while.

I will see if the teachers whom I missed yesterday will want me to come on Friday or just skip this week. Their schedules are pretty tight and they have set aside that 30 minute spot for me each week. Awhile back one of the teachers made the comment that she appreciated being able to count on me always showing up, like clockwork. Yesterday I failed.

I’m hopeful that the antibiotics will quickly knock this out and I can feel like my old self. Starting Sunday my calendar for May is full, something every day for three weeks. Some days have multiple activities, and they are all things I’m excited for. I appreciate my good health that is necessary to keep up an active schedule.

8 responses to “Seeking my old healthy self

  1. Hope you feel better soon.

  2. It stinks being under the weather. Get well soon!

  3. I hope that z-pac will do the trick. It had been going on for a while, so I hope it is allergies and that you’ll soon be well and back on your feet.

  4. You didn’t fail, you were sick. We all hope you will feel better soon…it’s a horrible bug that I had even with antibiotics for two months.

  5. I’m hoping you’re 100% better now. Allergies? Ouch! My daughter suffers through it every spring and fall.

  6. I get bad allergies, too. To me, they are like having a cold and just wears you down. I hope you feel better quickly!

  7. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

