Repairs needed

For the first time in weeks I am without the tickle in my throat. I finished my short dose of antibiotics and seem to be clear of any cough though I am still easily tired. It’s easy to sit on the couch and quickly fall asleep. Terry says my body is still healing. I’m thinking my body has just gotten to  be a lazy butt and needs to be getting back to work.

We were up at 6:30 this morning as there is yard work to be done and the day looks to be gorgeous. I watered all the yards, did some sweeping, raking, pruning, and brought in the garbage cans. It’s now just past 9 and I’m sitting on the couch again. My body seems to think it’s worked all day!

The washing machine sprang a leak yesterday. Although I had washed the day before and all was fine, when I  headed out on errands Monday morning, I found water running down the side of the garage. Terry set up an appointment with GE Repair and the repairman is due here any time now. The washer is old but I am hopeful it can again be fixed. A few years ago I thought it was time to replace it, but the repairman put a new motor in it and said it had many years of life left. A new washing machine that does what this one does would cost over $1000.

This is the week I give a final assessment to the first graders to whom I’ve been reading all year. It’s to determine if they have retained any of the lessons I have taught. Seems unfair to test first graders, but the questions are kind of fun, in a story-like way. It also gives the district some data to show that what the chaplains do can be measured. Everyone wants measurable results.

I am ready to wrap up the school year, get my body and soul back into healthy shape, and enjoy the warm summer months. It’s been such a cold, gloomy winter. I think a good dose of warm sunshine is just what I need. Also, as hard as it will be, I’m going to try to ignore the national news with all its hate and war-mongering and stupidity. I have seriously wondered if the tears in our national fabric is what has caused the tears in my own being.

3 responses to “Repairs needed

  1. Wishing you the best

  2. So glad you are improving in time for summer!

  3. Ah! This post explains the washing machine and that you are fast headed to complete health! Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

