Recapping the doctor’s appointment

That doctor’s appointment on Thursday went late–the doctor and I sat and talked until 8:15. She is the best doctor in the world, and a good friend. She shared some of her poetry with me and she drew on her new presentation board that has been installed in the examination room. The board has these electronic screens of all the body parts. She explained how my kidneys worked, how my heart could change as I age, and then showed me what a gouty toe looks like underneath the skin. She makes it all seem simple.

While sitting in the waiting room, I heard other patients speaking a foreign language that I did not recognize. I found out, in talking to Dr. Jones, that these ladies had come from Dubai for her to diagnose the mother’s ailment. I had overheard one of the women telling another waiting patient that Dr. Jones is the best doctor anywhere and can figure out things that no other doctor can. It’s true. It’s why none of us mind waiting for hours to see her. She spends hours with her patients. She is also the director of ethics for the hospital where she practices. A family from Idaho had called on her to help them dispute the care a family member was receiving in the hospital. This is who she is.

A few years ago, Dr. Jones was diagnosed with an ailment that is usually only found in an autopsy. The patient goes from being healthy to being dead very quickly. A blood test for an insurance policy found a tracer that no one recognized. That started a battery of tests, including a kidney biopsy which determined the problem. I was actually in the office the day she got the results. I prayed over her and prayed every day afterwards. She was hospitalized for almost a year. There was celebration and jubilation on the day she returned to her practice. I still give thanks for her good health. It is indeed a miracle, and she knows it. She says, almost each time I see her, “I keep learning what NOT to say to my patients after hearing these terrible things from my doctors.” She often says she would like to have herself for a doctor!

The gout thing I had a month or so ago was the reason I had this appointment. The podiatrist I saw said I should see Dr. Jones and have her look into my uric acid levels. The podiatrist knows Dr. Jones very well and knows her diagnostic ability so felt that was the best route for me. I had to return Friday for the blood work. The kidney, heart, and toe drawings that Dr. Jones did all tied together into what could be happening in my body.

“From all indications, you are very healthy, and we have to keep you that way.”

My kind of doctor.

7 responses to “Recapping the doctor’s appointment

  1. WOW–she sounds fantastic. I almost wish she didn’t take so long with each patient, so she could see and help more people.

    • She no longer takes new patients, but does see people on special request, like the mother brought from Dubai by her daughter who is a patient.

  2. Oh wow! I want to move near you so I can see Dr. Jones too. She sounds like the perfect doctor that everyone would like to have. Lucky you!

    • I started seeing Dr. Jones in the 80s, just after she started into practice in an all-women doctor group. They were all amazing doctors, and the one I had selected was no longer accepting new patients, but this new dr was. I said, sure, I ‘d see her. I’ve never regretted it for a moment.

  3. I’m so glad for two things: that you have access to such a fantastic doctor, and that you’re healthy and looking to stay that way! 🙂

    • I was beside myself when it appeared Dr. Jones might die. I just could not imagine life without her. I tell her, almost every time I see her, “you must keep practicing. No retirement for you!”

  4. So glad to hear you will be ok

Leave a Reply

