Our past, present, and future all connected through the internet

About 25 years ago the internet was this new-fangled contraption that many said would never last. Many in education said that. Along with, “students don’t need the Internet. They’ll just see bad things.”

I, and the teachers with whom I taught, didn’t believe it. We saw technology as a means to help our students learn more, and learn it faster. We wanted computers in our classrooms. We wanted internet access. We wanted color scanners and printers. We were a demanding bunch!

Another teacher and I went online at home, she on AOL and me on Compuserve, to teach ourselves about what this new thing could do. We connected with others and some of those connections have lasted for over two decades. Before networks and the World Wide Web and one click connection, we were dragging our students into the 21st century as well as ourselves. 

It’s all history, now. All schools are connected. All students, from kindergarten to graduate school, are online. And those teachers, we still believe in technology. I would be teaching coding and app development if I was still in the classroom. We would build robots that would do tasks. We would make videos of it all and connect with others around the world. 

On Wednesday this all came home to me when I had lunch with one of those former Compuserve friends I made over two decades ago. We’ve lived in the same town all these years and have reconnected through Facebook, but we had never met in person. She drove across town to have lunch with me at a new restaurant I had recently touted on Facebook. 


It’s like we had always known each other. We reminisced and caught up over a good lunch. We laughed at some past antics and we were saddened at the loss of friends we had in common. Lisa is caring for her exhusband as he faces the end of life. She does it with a grace I would not have. 

Next time I will drive to her side of town for lunch. Until then we’ll keep using the current form of Compuserve–Facebook–to keep up. Isn’t technology great?

13 responses to “Our past, present, and future all connected through the internet

  1. Yes, it is. I recall being the first secretary at the law firm to become interested. So interested that I paid my own money to attend weekend seminars, coffee shop geek classes, even learned how to write code and, as technology advanced, kept up with the latest which, eventually was seen as a plus skill and kept me employed through two mergers. Since retiring, I’m so far behind I can’t even believe it, mainly sticking to Facebook, Instagram, and a bit of twitter. Didn’t make any long-standing friendships as a result of technology, but technology allowed me to reconnected with former coworkers, keep in touch with relatives and new friends.

    • It’s funny how so many were loathe to have anything to do with computers, and now, we cannot imagine life without the technology. I live with my smartphone, something I never would have even imagined in 1993.

  2. There’s nothing more fun than reconnecting with a friend/acquaintance.
    Remember Al Gore talking about the “super highway.” We’ve come a long way since then, but now I can’t imagine ever being without the Internet. It’s like trying to imagine life without television. What would we do? Play cards and write letters we’d send by snail mail?

  3. The president of the company hauled a filthy box into my office. It came from the test dept. Clean this up, he said. I’ll be back. He came in with a monitor (64 bit), then a key board. He produced a disc for an accounting program, VisiCalc. You’re going to learn to use this, he said. That was 67 or 68. He was the president of the company. I cleaned it up and learned.

    • Lisa, with whom I had lunch, was reminiscing about having a Commodore and paying $6 a minute for CompuServe back in the 80s. She also told me that when she and her husband living in Cupertino at that time, they were just around the corner from Apple but it never occurred to her to go over and apply for a job. She kicks herself now.

  4. That’s great you stayed in touch! I wish I could hook up with some I ‘met’ during Prodigy chat. I’ve even joined their FB page, but no one I recognize so far. I also remember those early, super-expensive months when it was $3.95 an HOUR I think. LOL

  5. Glad the meetup was successful, thanks to technology!

  6. It really all has happened so fast.

  7. What a wonderful entry…a clear reality. Many years ago, I wanted to know how to access AA online. I had a computer, but I was lost. I went up to my branch library, and I asked the librarian how to do this. She too had a brand new computer, and she knew about search engines. What a pair we made. Now days we swim together once a week at the early morning aerobics class. She gave me a great gift.

  8. I also remember wanting to learn and involve others in the new technology. In school, we first used a National Geographic program, and I remember begging the school secretary to please shut down the school’s phones so that we could go online! Such fun to remember.

Leave a Reply

