Twice baked on a hot day

Twice-baked potatoes are a favorite of ours. Since my Cuisinart died, though, I have been making an easier variety that I call “smashed potatoes.”  


I use four very small Yukon gold potatoes since it’s just the two of us. I bake them in the microwave, and since they are small it takes only a few minutes. 

While the potatoes cool enough to handle, I line a baking sheet with parchment. I chop a couple of green onions, cube a quarter cup of butter (or a bit more), get out bacon bits and shaved  Parmesan cheese. 

After setting the oven to preheat to 400 degrees, I smash each potato as flat as I can (on the parchment covered baking sheet) and top with the prepped ingredients in the order I listed. The potatoes bake a second time for about 20 minutes in that hot oven. 

I did this operation early this morning as the weather forecaster is promising 106 degrees today. The potatoes can be eaten for lunch with leftovers stored away for another meal tomorrow. 

13 responses to “Twice baked on a hot day

  1. That looks incredibly scrumptious! 🙂

  2. Smashed beats mashed any day. This will be on our list.

  3. What a great idea!

  4. It was 90 here on the beach earlier. Now it seems to have come down into the 80’s. I cheated and bought a pre-cooked chicken and greek salad at Vons. I’ve been thinking about you and hoping you are ok in the heat.

    • We are in a mad heat wave. 8 straight days over 100 with more days to come. Looks like we might break the record of 15 days over 100. We were up at 5:30 this morning to do yard work. I try to get my errands run early in the day and get home by 10.

  5. So yummy!

  6. And it looks absolutely scrumptious!!! It’s rather over hot over here across the ocean too.

  7. 106 degrees? I would die!!!!

  8. Going to try smashing potatoes for dinner tonight, except I’ll have to leave off the cheese. Maybe try whipping up cashew cheese.

  9. That sounds delicious. I’ve made “crash hot potatoes” by the Pioneer Woman on Food Network. They are similar, but they are boiled instead of baked. Then you smash them and bake them with a little olive oil drizzled over. I never topped them with cheese, bacon bits, onions and butter before, but I’ll be trying your way. Yumo!

  10. … And don’t you just love those Yukon gold potatoes?

Leave a Reply

