I’m not dead (or incapacitated)

Just really busy.

Last Sunday I served coffee fellowship after church, which I wrote about in the previous post. It was successful, and it was behind me. Now, moving on…

Monday I ran errands and made the house ready for small grandchildren. On Tuesday we spent six hours in the car, driving to San Mateo to pick them up and bring them back to serious hot weather. They got out of the air-conditioned car, here in Fresno, and wilted. “It’s so hot.” Yes, yes it is. That’s why I recommend light-weight clothing and shorts for their visits in the summer. This time they had listened and packed accordingly. However, they had both brought half of their toy box and book collection. Their bags and suitcases exploded all over the house. Toys have been lost and found numerous times in all this chaos.

We went to the farmer’s market on Wednesday, getting popsicles to help keep us cool. Unfortunately, we ran errands afterwards and didn’t get home until after 12 noon. It was hot.

I was smarter on Thursday when we were out very early to go shopping at the Salvation Army store. I got more clothes to take to Columbia kids as well as a binder and an alarm clock for whomever might need them. The grandchildren found even more toys and other odds and ends. We had a carload by the time we left but it only cost $16. We got home before it was too hot, but the kids did complain about the 90 degrees.

“It’s a desert so it’s hot in the summer,” was my explanation.

“A desert!” exclaimed tiny grandson. “Where’s the cactus?” This asked while standing in the middle of the grocery store parking lot.

On Friday I decided we would stay home all day, under the air conditioning until it was time to go have pizza for dinner. Fixing meals for small children had worn me out and I needed a reprieve from the hot kitchen. We even had snackee type foods all day that required no cooking.

The kids are here for a couple more days. The heat will be here for a few more weeks. Everyone goes back to school in two weeks.

 

12 responses to “I’m not dead (or incapacitated)

  1. Grandma Camp is the best. I always called my Camp 61, for my address. The other grandparents had a six or seven digit address. Ha.

  2. What, back to school already?

  3. Glad to know you’re holding up with the grands. It can be more than a little trying, even without the heat. And school starts again so soon these days! 🙂

  4. It seems school starts sooner in some areas of the country. In the northeast, it is usually the Wednesday after Labor day. Sounds like you have had a busy week and will be ready for some R&R after they leave.

  5. Yes, school around here starts mid-August. That way, the first semester ends at Christmas break. Many of our students go to Mexico for Christmas so this gives them plenty of time. We also have families who like to plan ski vacations for that time, or time in Hawaii during the holiday season.

  6. Strangely, we’ve had cool weather. Very unusual for this time of year. Don’t forget to drink lots of water. Our grands won’t return to school until September 5.

  7. Wow hats off to you (or on in that sun!) for taking on so much. Can’t bear heat, my thick Irish blood raised in a cold and damp climate.

    Enjoy the rest of your time with the kidlets.

    XO
    WWW

  8. You will be exhausted when they return home, of but the memories you have built for them will last forever. Good job, Grammie.

    • As they get older, they are really getting easier. They can pretty much maintain themselves and they can tell me when they are hungry and what they want to eat. The hard work was when they still in diapers and had to be constantly monitored. I fix meals and do laundry for them now.

  9. That was funny about “where’s the cactus.”

  10. It never gets extremely hot here in Hilo, Hawaii, but I never do any outdoor work after 10:00 a.m. My sister, who lives in Northern Calif., finally got A.C. It’s just gotten that much hotter that she feels she can’t do without it.
    I remember that Valley heat from visits to my favorite aunt in Bakersfield. Real summer heat like that was a novelty to us. She had one of those old houses with thick walls, and an ice-cooled water cooling system. My cousin and I would get up early and raid the fridge for fruit. Our favorite was watermelon. Many wonderful memories of those times have stayed with me. It was a kind of easy-going place then. No more, I guess.

Leave a Reply

