A new week, month, and year

The week started with the grandchildren leaving. The month started with a serious hot spell. And I began a new year as an official senior citizen. This was the birthday that delivered that special card–the Medicare card. I also had to get my military ID card updated so as to distinguish myself as “senior.”  

A few other birthday cards also arrived, but only a few. I send actual cards to about 30 people a year. I got 4 cards in the mail. Maybe it’s time I just gave up. Cards in the mail must not mean much to people. I really like to get cards, but, as you can see, not many like to send any to me. Can you tell how very disappointed I am?

12 responses to “A new week, month, and year

  1. Happy Birthday Delaine!

  2. I am no longer a card sender, but we never got started with that, so I don’t feel too bad about our virtual relationship. However, it’s a BIG birthday! Congratulations, senior! 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday. Welcome to the club. It’s pretty sweet on the senior side.

    • This is one of those birthdays that seem too official to me. Like when I turned 40 and then 50 also made me shudder. Sixty didn’t bother me at all, I was having a very good time in retirement. 65 seems like the beginning of the end. I can no longer claim to still be young enough to start over if I wanted to.

      Perhaps that’s why I’m so disgruntled with the lack of cards from all those people to whom I have sent cards for years, decades even. They can’t come up with one lousy card for this monumental birthday?

  4. Happy Birthday!

    For many years I bought a stack of birthday cards at the beginning of the year and sent them out with small checks enclosed to extended family members. I never got a ‘thank you’, so I changed to just sending out the birthday cards. Still no acknowledgement of my efforts. When family members started moving around the country and not offering their new addresses I gave up. I still send cards to my children, but everyone else gets a Facebook recognition.

  5. I remember how happy I was to get my Medicare card. Ha! Even happier when SS kicked in. We all work a long time to get to this point in life. It’s nice to have a couple of safety nets. I hope the generations behind us have those same safety nets.

    • Funny thing about Medicare, it will cost more each month than when we were on the school district insurance policy. I was paying $100 a month for our insurance coverage through the school district. Now that Medicare kicks in, the district requires $10 a month/each so as to be the secondary coverage. That means that Terry and I will go from paying $100 a month to paying $250 a month for medical coverage.

  6. Happy Birthday!!

  7. Each major birthday, I did something dramatic. At 70, I went around the country on the train. At 60, I went to London and Paris. I have hopes I will be here at 80.

    Don’t forget to get your National Parks Senior Pass. 🙂

    • Since I’ve never done anything major on ANY birthday, I don’t think I will start. There certainly isn’t the money to do those major trips. I’m not fond of travel, either. Think I’ll stick close to home.

  8. I only send cards when I send money. Happy birthday. Aloha from Hawaii.

    • None of my friends or acquaintances get money in their cards. Just the cards. But, I’m not planning to restock my supply. I’ll use that money for some other things.

Leave a Reply

