I am not a shopper

I am a buyer. I don’t go to stores just to wander around and look at stuff. I only go to stores when I need something (okay, or want something because I need very little). When I go to buy something, I want a really good selection and really good service. I want a convenient location, easy to get in and out, and back on my way to other things.

Today was just such a day of buying. I left home shortly before 9 a.m., when I knew Barnes & Noble would be opening. The parking lot offered lots of spaces, and I chose one far out in the lot so I could get some walking done. Although I didn’t know what book I wanted, I knew I wanted a book to read because I just finished my previous book last night. I should have a box of books coming from Powells any day now, but they’ve not sent me a notice saying the shipment is on its way. I was stopped three times in Barnes & Noble by clerks asking if I needed help. I appreciated their concern. After finding three books, two of which were on the clearance table, I was able to quickly check out.

Next stop was at the mall, which is not my favorite place to go, but if I get there when the stores are opening (10 a.m.), and I park behind the Cheesecake Factory, I can quickly walk to Sephora which is the store where I had items to buy. Again, a gracious clerk helped me locate the items I wanted and the cashier was waiting for me when I was ready to pay for everything. Oh, and I also got a birthday gift from Sephora. Lipstick and blush. It’s a nice customer service touch.

Still early, it was easy to get out of the mall’s parking lot and back on the road. Speaking of roads, every road in Fresno is under some sort of construction. Sure enough, the road I needed to travel had lanes closed, but right before I had to merge left, I turned right into my next stop–LifeWay–where I was headed to buy greeting cards. I know, I know, I said no more cards, but I want to have a few on hand for death, illness, new job, new baby, that kind of thing. Found the cards, and a book and was out within 15 minutes. I also had a 40 percent discount coupon on the book.

Back to the road under construction, making a quick turn before reaching the point where the next road was completely closed. This has been the city’s state of affairs since the rains stopped. Road work every where. I made a quick right into Orchard Supply where I picked up some roach boxes. We are fighting the plague here the best we know how. Quick in and out. Only to discover another road closed so I made a turn that headed me towards home. One more slowdown for construction. They are striping the road near our house that they worked on last week, taking it down to the bare dirt before reconstructing it. With new white stripes and reflectors, it will be a pleasure to drive on.

No shopping this morning, just lots of buying with excellent service. I call that a successful morning.

5 responses to “I am not a shopper

  1. Congrats on some successful buying!

  2. I do not shop either. I know what I need and where it is and I am in and out without glancing at anything else. My Mother loved to shop, as do my daughters, so that “vice” skipped a generation in my family. LOL

  3. I’m not a shopper either, and I can’t stand traffic. When I need/want something, I go early, too. Glad you had so many successful stops.

  4. I feel the same about shopping. My mother was a shopper, and it wore me out to go with her, just browsing for whatever. But what I would give to go with her once more. 🙂

  5. I am what you might call a strategic shopper, too.
    My daughter and I scored yesterday. Got me a complete warm weather casual wardrobe update: tops, tights, a dress, shorts, pants, pajamas for around $120.00. Took us about 1/1/2 hours, driving included. This is not a crowded place. Tried the clothes on at home. They all fit and looked great.
    Big reveal: We found them at Wal-Mart. Everyone shops at Wal-Mart here in Hilo. even the hoity-toitiest. We have lots of shopping possibilities, inc. Target and Ross and plenty of local competition, but for casual clothing Wal-Mart can’t be beat. We don’t buy food there, though. I don’t think they should be selling food. We have several local stores and small chain groceries plus farmers’ markets that provide better food. For some reason, Wal-Mart has not been able to drive out all the competition here.

Leave a Reply

