Stand up, stand up

When I was teaching, I would be on my feet for most of the day. I taught four or five classes each day, and most of time, I was standing or walking around the classroom directing my students and their projects. When one uses computers to teach, one has to go TO the computer that the student is using to direct or help them. I seldom sat except for lunch eaten at my desk in our department office, and even then I was often up and down, answering the door when students came seeking help.

All those years of standing, walking, Then the past seven years, in retirement, I spend most of the time sitting. There are some days, though, like Saturday, when I am on my feet, moving and doing. Our church celebrated 500 years of Martin Luther’s Reformation with a day-long event.

Terry and I arrived at church at 9 a.m. to make coffee and fill some pitchers with water. Set out the coffee accouterments, and tray up small donuts. We kept track of those items, refilling as necessary, while a guest professor/clergyman spoke about the reformation. By 10:30 it was time for me to make 10 pitchers of iced tea and prepare another 10 pitchers of ice water for the luncheon that would be served at noon. A crew of cooks were in the kitchen making pupusas for the meal. 

As lunch was served, I filled small bowls with salsa for the tables and constantly checked on water and tea pitchers. Replenished eating utensils, boxed up takeout containers. When lunch was finished, I collected all the salt/pepper shakers, pitchers, salsa bowls, and cleaned up. Since there was another lecture in the afternoon, more coffee had to be made.

By two o’clock we were wrapping up the food service part of the day and made our way to the sanctuary to listen to the music rehearsals for the 3 p.m. worship service. Terry sang in the choir.

After the worship service was completed, I made my way back to the kitchen to finish the cleanup. I sat for about an hour afterwards to talk with the pastor about a pressing issue. Terry and I finally got home around 6 p.m. As you can probably guess, I slept well that night.

This morning, as I dropped to the floor to do my usual exercise routine, I could feel the backs of my legs pulling and aching. Guess I stood a bit more than I’m used to.

5 responses to “Stand up, stand up

  1. A life of service, you are good people.

  2. I have not heard or thought of that hymn since I was a teenager. Thank you for such a good illustration.

  3. Thank you for all you do.

  4. I too would be sore after a day like that, and I get lots of exercise. Great service you provide to others, day in and day out. But as you said, nowadays not so much standing. 🙂

  5. The pupusas look wonderful. What were they filled with?

Leave a Reply

