Colder days don’t require fans

Today I gave in and admitted that summer is over. Yes, I know the calendar says we are officially in autumn with a little over five weeks until the official start of winter. Yes, I know that, but it’s hard for me to accept. I love long, sunny, warm days. I hang on to summer as long as possible, but today’s high is 65 degrees.

Those summer days are hot so we have fans throughout the house to help with keeping us cool. Today I admitted those fans aren’t needed for now and are just taking up space and collecting dust. Because I hate to dust, and try to have fewer things to dust, I knew it was time to move the fans out of the house. I took them to our storage unit and covered them with sheets until next spring when the daytime temperature gets over 80 degrees.

Another nod to colder temperatures–I cooked a chuck roast and plan to make beerocks in the next day or so. I haven’t made those since last winter, when my old Cuisinart died. The new food processor will be given a workout chopping onions and mincing roast beef. The oven will run for a couple of hours to get all the beerocks baked. That will keep the house warm.

9 responses to “Colder days don’t require fans

  1. It’s a Bohunk pasty. How small is the world?!

  2. It is very cold in Toronto right now (30F), so summer is far, far away. It is supposed to go to 40F tomorrow, a bit better. It was maybe 50F a couple of days ago, it’s that time of year, very changeable.

  3. ha! We made chuck roast in the crock pot this week too!

  4. Yes, chuck roast time again, I don’t mind as I love sweaters.
    Now…what are beerocks? Please and thank you.

  5. I have no idea what beerocks are, but if they have roast beef and onions in them, I’d like them.

  6. We still have our a/c on even though it is a bit cooler. We just don’t like the humidity.

  7. I had to look up beerocks. You taught me something new today and the day has barely begun. There may be time to learn something else before the day is done.
    It has turned cold here. In the thirties and even twenties at night. All my flowers have said bye bye until next spring.

Leave a Reply

