Grumpy lives here

My life is so much less stressful now than when I was teaching. I no longer set an alarm clock, and I hardly ever get out of bed before 6:30 a.m.  Of course, I’m not falling into bed, dead tired, at 8 p.m. either. The job I have allows me to sit at a desk all day with minimal interruptions, and certainly no bells are ringing to  signal the end or beginning of my work. There is no traffic on the way to work because I walk to and from the BART station for a 10 minute ride. I love each day.

So, why am I feeling so crabby and out of sorts this evening? There is an almost full moon rising over the Bay Bridge so maybe that has something to do with it. It really makes no sense, though. The weather today was perfect. Autumn in San Francisco is as close to summer as it gets here. We spent most of the day with our daughter and granddaughter and had a lovely time. Came home and fixed a delicious dinner. The sun is setting, lighting up the east bay and making the windows sparkle as it hits the glass. So, what’s the matter with me?

I left my car keys at my daughter’s house in San Mateo. I had RSVPd to attend an event on Thursday night that I just cancelled as we are headed back to Fresno so I can be at school for a surprise party the next day. We got stuck in traffic by Candlestick Park on our way back into the city because some football game being played there tonight. I worked all day Saturday on a newsletter for an organization and today learned it has to be completely reconstructed, or will need to be if it is going to look good with all the modifications that are being requested. Only a few minor glitches that a year or so ago would have hardly registered on the annoyance meter, but today, with life going so well, I think they’ve hit a bit harder. I need to just shake it off and go back to enjoying the great days I have here.

One response to “Grumpy lives here

  1. Pingback: Day in a Sentence – transitioning into a new year

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.