Some classroom management tips

I found that my blog had been linked to a site about classroom management. Thought I  would like to add a few points about classroom management as I seldom just list what I did in the classroom:

 

1. Be confident. Students know if you’re scared and they don’t want you to be scared. They want their teacher to be in charge.

 

2. Like what you are doing. Smile at the students. Chat with them. Ask them a few questions. Show them that you are glad to be there. Don’t let them hear you grumble.

 

3. Start on time, every time. Even teenagers don’t want their time wasted. I remember one time when the bell had rung and I was busy getting cameras out for my yearbook student to take, and my marketing students, who were my next class, got very upset that I wasn’t starting on time with them. They were used to my punctuality.

 

4. Don’t waste class time just talking to be talking. Students want to work (most of the time) and your lecture can get in the way. Students would often ask, “are you done so we can go to work?” when I would keep talking after giving them their task for the day.

 

5. Say goodbye to the class and wish them well as they go on to the next class. I always told my students to stay out of trouble and they liked that. Make them want to come back the next day and do good work for you.

6. Keep the classroom clean and tidy. Students, like you, don’t want to work in a mess and if you show them you care about the space in which they work, they will care too. This takes a lot of work, however, so be prepared to do it every day.

7. Get rid of troublemakers as soon as possible. Call the counselor, write up conduct referrals, call home, make notations on their records. Don’t let a bad apple jeopardize the learning in your room. The good kids will be so glad to have the bad kid gone. This too will take lots of work so be prepared.

 

3 responses to “Some classroom management tips

  1. Love this post, Delaine. I’ve got to remember to share it with my students this semester!

  2. I try to greet my students (and any passers by) at my door with a smile and a hello or good morning. It always shocks me when a student asks me what is wrong on a day when I may not be standing there smiling greeting them.

    I need to get better at saying some sort of goodbye as they leave.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.