Do you teach writing?

Although I am not an English teacher, I teach writing.  My students write a lot, and they used to complain, “this isn’t an English class, how come we have to write so much,” but I don’t get too much of that any more.  We write letters, advertisements, promotional plans, business plans, book reports, scripts, and my yearbook class writes stories and captions for its pages.

Not only do I teach writing, but I love to write.  That’s the reason I started this blog, so I could write even more than I normally do.  Twelve years ago, I attended  a Summer Institute put on by the San Joaquin Valley Writing Project. I was able to meet other teachers who also liked to write and for 4 weeks we shared lessons and ideas.  It was a great summer project.  I would love to recommend the Summer Institute to other teachers, especially NON English teachers, so that you too can share your ideas, pick up new ideas, and just get to know some really great people.  If you are in California, the California Writing Project is where you want to look for a local chapter.  Others can look at the National Writing Project to find chapters in your state.

Another plus for this project is that most sites pay the participants a stipend and offer college credits.  It’s not too late to check with the Writing Project near you and say, “I want to be a part of your summer institute.”

 

7 responses to “Do you teach writing?

  1. I applied last summer and didn’t get in. I applied for this summer and am hoping to interview again. It’s definitely a program I want to be a part of.

  2. Pingback: The #blog4nwp Archive « Cooperative Catalyst

  3. Yay for the National Writing Project!!!! I’m so glad you are encouraging teachers from other content areas to apply. I’m always really glad to have Science, History, and teachers from other areas who understand how writing can be used to learn, well, anything. It’s also important that teachers teach the kinds of writing common to their discipline. In the Summer Institute, we all learn from each other–and there’s so much that we can adapt for our own purposes.

    Thanks for your blog entry!

  4. I taught my 1st graders to write A LOT and to love it. I told them that writing was a magic power. It could make people feel better. It could even change people’s minds. However, it was also a power you had to respect because it could be dangerous. You can hurt people with this power. They liked the idea that they would have such a powerful power to be responsible for. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Why the National Writing Project Matters | Kevin's Meandering Mind

  6. Keep on trying Kimberly. I’ve been involved with my local site (the Western New York Writing Project) since 2003 and am constantly amazed at the knowledge and motivation of people within this organization. It’s transformative.

  7. Three cheers for writing as the core of your curriculum, with all these practical lessons. Didn’t know about the Writing Project, thank you !

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.