There is still more to learn

Yesterday, in a round-about way I learned that a friend has been hospitalized for three weeks and has another three weeks or so before being sent to a rehabilitation facility. I don’t know all the details, but she had some sort of neurological crises, something like a tumor that exploded in her brain.

She cannot speak or use her right side. She is aware of her surroundings and knows people. She can nod her head and has facial expressions. I guess this is pretty amazing when I see that she has half of her head shaved and a major scar running around the side of her head.

I went to visit her at the hospital this morning, stopping first at Whole Foods for flowers. I am not good at hospital visitations and pretty much refuse to go see someone who will only be there for a few days. But three weeks in, with three weeks to go, made me feel the overwhelming need to go see Ramona.

Ramona is a strong woman. She works with handicapped children, in their homes, teaching them how to do things for themselves. She adopted twins and raised them as a single woman. That’s about the time I met Ramona. She attended the Baptist church where we no longer attend. The whole congregation cheered when the word came that she would be allowed to adopt the girls. This was almost 20 years ago, when it was unusual for single women  to adopt any child, much less twins.

A couple of years ago a large old tree fell into her house, wiping out the whole back half. Ramona had to move out for a few months while the house was rebuilt. She now has four grandchildren and often had to care for them. She has been a strong woman her whole life so I believe she will overcome this crises. I prayed with her and asked God to bring her THROUGH this. I believe God has a plan for Ramona and isn’t ready for her to move on to her heavenly home. She has something to teach me, I know it.

10 responses to “There is still more to learn

  1. What a strong woman and not an easy life, I hope the best for her.

  2. Light and love to Ramona. Tell her you know another single grandmother who had half her head shaved and her scalp stapled from ear to forehead, who is making her way back on this interesting journey, and I’m sending her energy to carry on.

  3. Perhaps she has something to teach us all.

  4. Yes, it sounds like Ramona is a very strong woman. And through your blog, she has reached me, for one, and I am looking forward to hearing about her recovery. Blessings to her, and to you. May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving this week. 🙂

  5. Sounds like Ramona has a lot to teach all of us.
    I pray God continues to bless her and bring her healing and health.

  6. I will pray for her to continue to heal. 🙂

  7. Pingback: First graders and hospital patients | Dkzody's Weblog

  8. Pingback: Not good news | Dkzody's Weblog

  9. Pingback: Death of the accidental mom | Dkzody's Weblog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.