Bad air and long days

It’s another bad air day here. We had beautiful weather all week–blue skies, cooler temperatures. I even opened the windows in the mornings, but not this morning. I opened the windows when I got up and realized the air did not smell as good as previous mornings. Then, as the sun came up, I could see the air. One should not be able to see air. The particulants were too high to keep the windows open, and now in late afternoon, my eyes are itching and watering. And that’s having stayed inside with air conditioned air all day except for running errands.

I spent most of the morning at church, setting up for a funeral luncheon for tomorrow. Tables set, flowers arranged. I had to make a run for more tablecloths as we decided to add a few more tables. The daughter of the deceased came by with picture boards and other mementos of her mother and mentioned the attendance should be about 100. We had planned for 80. We assume that those attending will be friends of the family as the deceased has not been active in the community for 20 years. The longer we live, the fewer of our friends are there to mourn our passing.

Coming home around 1, I stopped at the grocery store to pick up prepared foods for us to munch on the next few days. I knew I was tired for Friday and by Saturday afternoon, when the luncheon is done and all cleaned up, I will be ready to crash on the couch. Meals will be simple foods with no preparation necessary. How about you, dear Reader, do you feel up to preparing meals after busy days? When I was young, it didn’t occur to me to do otherwise, but now, not so much. I can only keep go for so long. I am no longer the energizer bunny.

A follow-up on this postThere were 50 at the luncheon. We had more food than was needed. Only a few took food home even though I offer takeout boxes and pack them with whatever they select. We had all the leftovers for after-church fellowship the next day. It was a big hit. 

 

4 responses to “Bad air and long days

  1. Your air got bad just as ours got better. I guess the shift in wind patterns is the reason. We have bad air coming back early next week. Maybe you’ll get a break then. And I do hope you remember to take care of yourself with all that you manage to accomplish every day!

  2. It takes more than a day to recover if I have a really busy day.

  3. My spirit is always willing but my flesh is weak. I can only do so much in a day now. A huge adjustment for me.

    That bad air is not helping your stamina either. You are doing a lot!

    XO
    WWW

  4. Thank you for all that you do. Yes, when mother died, there was only family. When duck died, there were five of us.
    Bad air here by nightfall.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.