A Tuesday at home

Yesterday, Monday, was Ladies Who Lunch. We were a small group, just five of us who were in town and not ill or at the hairdresser’s. We met at a very new, upscale, popular Armenian bakery. Everyone is raving about the food here, and it is excellent. It is also very busy due to its rave reviews.

The building has been remodeled from a former a Parisiene bakery to this very modern, light, large room with a patio on the east side. Because the weather was near-perfect, we chose a table outside. Actually, we chose three! We moved twice due to sun and a too-small table and then a lovely couple asked us to take their table for our larger group. It was perfect.

As mentioned before, we have added a younger person who is three years away from retirement but wants to practice and who has a short day on Mondays so she can make it to our 11 o’clock meet-up time. She is a perfect addition. She fits right in with her good sense of humor and high energy. The energy factor got some discussion yesterday.

One of the group has just returned from a trip to New England and another woman is planning a trip to Iceland with a younger friend. Lots of talk about what was seen, what will be seen, places and hikes and transportation. Both women said they could not do these trips with some of their friends due to friends’ disabilities of aging. Both women, and our newer person, all exercise, walking as well as going to the gym. It’s definitely a lesson to those about to retire and those who have–keep moving if you want to keep moving.

All that said, Terry and I slept in until 7 this morning, and I’m planning to stay home today. I will stay busy, though, as the weather is a bit cooler–high 70s–and I plan to make bean soup. Wednesday and Thursday will be Columbia days with first and second graders.

10 responses to “A Tuesday at home

  1. Ah yes, the wisdom of moving! Some days my only exercise is going up and down the stairs between the first floor and my office garret, but the last couple days I have resumed morning walks in the neighborhood. The leaves are falling and the temps are brisk and Halloween decorations are in full display. I returned home refreshed and renewed.

    • Up and down stairs is excellent exercise. When I’m in a multistory building, I always try to find the stairs. I also park in the farthest point in parking lots so as to get more exercise.

  2. Our air quality is so bad right now that I’m wondering whether to drive rather than walk to the bus today! And it’s getting cold here, too, but we have at least two more days before possible rain might help clear the air. 😦

  3. PNW has he worst air quality in the country just now due to forest fires. Locally, our air is not too bad, but Seattle is awful!

  4. lots of gadgets suitable for indoor exercise, although on saying that I’ve started a morning walk because soon it will be too humid and hot here in New Zealand…so practicing getting up early and doing it. Feels good because once I’ve done it (still short/20mins), hope to expand the short to further but for now, I know if I don’t go out anywhere else, I’ve got in some steps.

  5. Great advice on the moving Delaine. Keep at it to keep at it. And your lunches sound charming and very, very interesting.
    XO
    WWW

  6. I know my teacher’s group in Illinois always try to eat outside at restaurants to avoid COVID. I really miss being with them. I’m so happy for you to have this special time with good friends.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.